All text entry fields on program not working

Got a LiveCode personal license? Are you a beginner, hobbyist or educator that's new to LiveCode? This forum is the place to go for help getting started. Welcome!

Moderators: heatherlaine, Klaus, FourthWorld, kevinmiller

Post Reply
agraham147
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2018 6:18 am

All text entry fields on program not working

Post by agraham147 » Fri May 04, 2018 9:41 am

My program I have made, I have launched as a standalone application to test on another computer and now all of the text entry fields won't allow you to type text into them, including the file on the LiveCode developer. What has happened here, and how do I fix this because my program needs to have fields the user can type into?

Klaus
Posts: 9994
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: All text entry fields on program not working

Post by Klaus » Fri May 04, 2018 10:46 am

Hi agraham147,

hm, that is very hard to check from afar and guessing is highly ineffective!
I can take a look at your stack if you like, just ZIP it and send it to: klaus AT major-k.de

But please give us some more info:
What version of LC?
What platform Mac/Win/Linux?
Is there anything that might cover the fields so you cannot enter text?
Any scripts involved?


Best

Klaus

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2437
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: All text entry fields on program not working

Post by richmond62 » Fri May 04, 2018 10:56 am

fieldProps.png

Make sure ALL the boxes in the picture above are ticked for each field.

Klaus
Posts: 9994
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: All text entry fields on program not working

Post by Klaus » Fri May 04, 2018 11:17 am

Hi jwtea,
including the file on the LiveCode developer.
do you mean that this also happens in the IDE?
If not, what do you mean with this?


Best

Klaus

agraham147
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2018 6:18 am

Re: All text entry fields on program not working

Post by agraham147 » Fri May 04, 2018 12:19 pm

It's OK I've resolved the problem, it was a coding issue on the stack script, thanks guys ;)

Lagi Pittas
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 302
Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2013 1:32 pm

Re: All text entry fields on program not working

Post by Lagi Pittas » Fri May 04, 2018 1:05 pm

HI,


Can you explain what your coding issue was and then this thread will be useful to others?

As it is, only Richmond's post is useful but is easier much easier to solve in most cases.

Lagi

Post Reply

Return to “Getting Started with LiveCode - Complete Beginners”