Pre purchase question

Got a LiveCode personal license? Are you a beginner, hobbyist or educator that's new to LiveCode? This forum is the place to go for help getting started. Welcome!

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller

Dagunster

Pre purchase question

Post by Dagunster » Sun Apr 08, 2018 12:24 am

Taking a very serious look at buying into Live Code Indy license. I'm a Java and C# developer on the server and web developer with very good Javascript skills.

I did the download. Apparently not the open source as it is timed for 10 days.

* This is only good for 10 days?
* Is there a way to extend this as I only have about 1 day a week I can devote to research and testing of Live Code.
* It seems I can only start a IOS project, not an Android or other project. Or am I missing something?

* Live Code develops native code on IOS and on Android?
* Or is it in a VM on those devices? If so, which VM on which platforms?
* Compared to native on IOS or Android, can I expect native performance? Or 80%, or ? What would limit performance on Mobile?
* Developing for web? I read I will be using Javascript? How does 'reactive' work? I use Bootstrap currently.
* Screensizes. I have a smaller Android phone and a larger tablet. Same app will run and look good on both?
* I can send requests and receive responses from REST web services I am putting onto Azure? USING HTTPS?

Appreciate as much input as possible before I part with my beloved money and buy the license.

dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer

Re: Pre purchase question

Post by dunbarx » Sun Apr 08, 2018 1:15 am

Others will reply to your platform-specific questions.

But the Community version is free, full functioned and a perfect place to test the waters. You can get started in about 15 minutes from now.

Craig Newman

bogs

Post by bogs » Sun Apr 08, 2018 1:38 am