New to LiveCode- Issue with Documentation

Got a LiveCode personal license? Are you a beginner, hobbyist or educator that's new to LiveCode? This forum is the place to go for help getting started. Welcome!

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller

TheMexican

New to LiveCode- Issue with Documentation

Post by TheMexican » Fri Feb 16, 2018 6:00 pm

I am new to LiveCode. My background in programming comes from Python and also Javascript.
The main issue I have is reading the documentation. For example, I am working with a Table Field. I would like to know all of the properties and actions of a Table Field. I cannot find anything on the Doc API where it shows me all of the properties and actions of the Table Field.

Is there a way to find out what properties/methods an object contains?
Am I missing something?

Thanks!!

jmburnod
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer

Re: New to LiveCode- Issue with Documentation

Post by jmburnod » Fri Feb 16, 2018 6:41 pm

Welcome to this forum,
This should be useful:
http://lessons.livecode.com/m/datagrid/ ... -s-columns
Best regards
Jean-Marc
https://alternatic.ch

dunbarx

Post by dunbarx » Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:55 pm

Every control has a property, "the properties". You must know, though, that this is in array form, so you would need to:

Code: Select all

on mouseUp
   put the properties of fld "yourtableField" into temp
   combine temp with return and comma
   replace comma with "  - has a value of: " in temp
   answer temp
end mouseUp
Um, that third line is just for grins. :wink: Hey, can you see that you can merge lines 2 and 3?

Craig Newman
Last edited by dunbarx on Sat Feb 17, 2018 10:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

bogs

Post by bogs » Fri Feb 16, 2018 8:19 pm

Thanks Craig, that is neat to know :D You know, somewhere I seem to remember having found all the properties for all the objects in the docs, but danged if I remember where I was looking at the time. Probably when I was going through Mc :roll: