Could not compile application class

Got a LiveCode personal license? Are you a beginner, hobbyist or educator that's new to LiveCode? This forum is the place to go for help getting started. Welcome!

Moderators: heatherlaine, Klaus, FourthWorld, kevinmiller

Post Reply
DavJans
Posts: 215
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2013 4:21 pm
Location: Spokane, WA USA

Could not compile application class

Post by DavJans » Wed Jan 17, 2018 6:30 pm

I have found a few forum posts about this issue. None of them have helped. One suggested installing a different SDK Build-Tool. the tool they suggested to use is already installed. Another said to use JDK 1.9 I had 1.8 installed. 1.9 doesn't exist as far as I can tell. JDK 9 doesn't work at all it seams. any help would be greatly appreciated. As always, Thank you in advance.
"Det bästa stället att hitta en hjälpande hand är i slutet av din egen arm"

quailcreek
Posts: 692
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:01 pm
Location: McKenna, WA

Re: Could not compile application class

Post by quailcreek » Wed Jan 17, 2018 7:31 pm

It sounds like you're trying to generate an Android standalone and you're getting the error "Could not compile application class"?

What OS are you on?
What version of LC are you using?
Are you using Android studio or...?
Tom
MacBook Pro OS High Sierra 10.13.3

DavJans
Posts: 215
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2013 4:21 pm
Location: Spokane, WA USA

Re: Could not compile application class

Post by DavJans » Wed Jan 17, 2018 7:45 pm

OK, Thank you, I cant believe I didn't post those things already.

Yes, android app.

Windows 7 x64
LC 8.1.8
Android Studio 3.0.1
"Det bästa stället att hitta en hjälpande hand är i slutet av din egen arm"

livecodeali
Livecode Staff Member
Livecode Staff Member
Posts: 160
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2013 2:48 pm

Re: Could not compile application class

Post by livecodeali » Wed Jan 17, 2018 8:14 pm

Could you could edit the script of stack "revSaveAsAndroidStandalone" and find the line

Code: Select all

answer "Could not compile application class"

and change it to

Code: Select all

answer "Could not compile application class" & return & the result

and see what happens? There should be a more informative error.

quailcreek
Posts: 692
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:01 pm
Location: McKenna, WA

Re: Could not compile application class

Post by quailcreek » Wed Jan 17, 2018 9:23 pm

Do your Mobile Support Preferences look something like this?
MobilePrefs.png
Tom
MacBook Pro OS High Sierra 10.13.3

DavJans
Posts: 215
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2013 4:21 pm
Location: Spokane, WA USA

Re: Could not compile application class

Post by DavJans » Wed Jan 17, 2018 11:23 pm

Image

Image


Not sure why these images don't work, but if you right click and open in a new tab they work.

If you don't trust my external links...

1. Location of Android development SDK root:
C:/Users/Davidj/AppData/Local/Android/sdk
JDK Path: C:\Program Files\Java\jdk1.8.0_162

2. There was an error while saving the standalone application
could not encode class bundle
-Djaca.ext.dirs=C:\Users\Davidj\AppData\Local\Android\sdk\BUILD-~1\270~1.3\lib is not supported. Use -classpath instead.
Error: Could not create the Java Virtual Machine.
Error: A fatal exception has occurred. Program will exit.
"Det bästa stället att hitta en hjälpande hand är i slutet av din egen arm"

quailcreek
Posts: 692
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:01 pm
Location: McKenna, WA

Re: Could not compile application class

Post by quailcreek » Thu Jan 18, 2018 2:23 am

I had the same issue.

viewtopic.php?f=53&t=29660
Tom
MacBook Pro OS High Sierra 10.13.3

DavJans
Posts: 215
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2013 4:21 pm
Location: Spokane, WA USA

Re: Could not compile application class

Post by DavJans » Fri Jan 19, 2018 12:13 am

Thank you, all fixed, just needed to get rid of JDK 1.8.0_162 and install JDK1.8.0_144.
"Det bästa stället att hitta en hjälpande hand är i slutet av din egen arm"

Post Reply

Return to “Getting Started with LiveCode - Complete Beginners”