file transfer over sockets

Got a LiveCode personal license? Are you a beginner, hobbyist or educator that's new to LiveCode? This forum is the place to go for help getting started. Welcome!

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller

windowsLC

file transfer over sockets

Post by windowsLC » Wed Dec 27, 2017 5:44 am

I've never done anything with sockets before so I've started playing with the chat server and client stacks a little. One thing I wanted to try and tackle was file transfer. I can send small files, but I can see as the files get bigger I'm probably going to need to send/receive small chunks of the file. I haven't found anything in searching, but are there any existing stacks or code examples of this around? baring that are there any best practices for this, like best bunk sizes and the best way to write the loop scripts for the read and write?

[-hh]
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer

Re: file transfer over sockets

Post by [-hh] » Wed Dec 27, 2017 12:17 pm

You could start from here:
Use "Sample stacks" from the LC toolbar. Search for sockets (simplest socket client/ simplest socket server).

There is no *overall* optimal chunk size, depends on server, client and object to transfer.
shiftLock happens

bogs

Post by bogs » Wed Dec 27, 2017 2:26 pm

Along with -hh's suggestion, you may want to read an article or two about MTU. The first is very cut down, but certainly explains the essentials, and should help you determine optimal size.

MaxV

Post by MaxV » Wed Dec 27, 2017 4:57 pm

windowsLC wrote:
Wed Dec 27, 2017 5:44 am