Program works fine, but fails as standalone

Got a LiveCode personal license? Are you a beginner, hobbyist or educator that's new to LiveCode? This forum is the place to go for help getting started. Welcome!

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, kevinmiller

Post Reply
PoLyGLoT
Posts: 105
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2012 12:37 am

Program works fine, but fails as standalone

Post by PoLyGLoT » Wed Oct 25, 2017 10:35 pm

Hi all,

I have a program that works fine when opened within LiveCode. I then save it as a standalone and the main part of the program no longer works! I am dragging and dropping files into a data grid. It changes colors like I want based on DragEnter and DragDrop, but it fails to process the files. Again, this works fine when opened within LiveCode.

Any ideas?

FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 6836
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Program works fine, but fails as standalone

Post by FourthWorld » Thu Oct 26, 2017 12:20 am

LiveCode and OS versions?
Richard Gaskin
Community volunteer LiveCode Community Liaison

LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems: http://FourthWorld.com
LiveCode User Group on Facebook : http://FaceBook.com/groups/LiveCodeUsers/

PoLyGLoT
Posts: 105
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2012 12:37 am

Re: Program works fine, but fails as standalone

Post by PoLyGLoT » Thu Oct 26, 2017 12:51 am

Hi!

LiveCode is 9.0 DP 10 (?).
OS is Win 10

I'll try on Win 7 too.

PoLyGLoT
Posts: 105
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2012 12:37 am

Re: Program works fine, but fails as standalone

Post by PoLyGLoT » Thu Oct 26, 2017 12:58 am

Does not work on Win 7 or Win 10.

Any ideas? Am I missing an option in Standalone settings?

FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 6836
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Program works fine, but fails as standalone

Post by FourthWorld » Thu Oct 26, 2017 1:32 am

Recent versions of LC and Windows - that much is good.

When something works in the IDE but not as a standalone, most of the time it's because of missing inclusions in the Standalone Builder settings.

Double-check that you have selected the things that reasonably seem that you might need. Drag-n-drop is built into the LC engine so it always comes along for the ride. But the DataGrid may require being explicitly included. If you're using Internet connections make sure that's checked as well, and so on.

You can also turn on Automatic Inclusions, but personally I never use it. I like to know what goes into my apps, and I build often enough that the search time is worth saving for me.

Please keep us posted with how it goes.
Richard Gaskin
Community volunteer LiveCode Community Liaison

LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems: http://FourthWorld.com
LiveCode User Group on Facebook : http://FaceBook.com/groups/LiveCodeUsers/

PoLyGLoT
Posts: 105
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2012 12:37 am

Re: Program works fine, but fails as standalone

Post by PoLyGLoT » Thu Oct 26, 2017 1:39 am

Hey!

I selected the option to let me choose the "inclusions". I then selected "data grid" and saved it as a standalone application. That caused it to process the files with drag-n-drop!

Thanks!

RossG
Posts: 243
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 7:38 am

Re: Program works fine, but fails as standalone

Post by RossG » Thu Oct 26, 2017 3:37 am

I've developed a great way to make a stand-alone fail.

Just leave a break-point set when you compile.

Works every time.
Is age an excuse? Eighty-one and counting.
Programming powered by coffee and nicotine.

PoLyGLoT
Posts: 105
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2012 12:37 am

Re: Program works fine, but fails as standalone

Post by PoLyGLoT » Thu Oct 26, 2017 1:00 pm

So under DP 10 I cannot find the option to select "DataGrid" as an inclusion. Program seems to work when I can select "DataGrid" as an inclusion (earlier version of LiveCode) - but is failing to work in DP 10. I even selected EVERY possible inclusion and it still failed. No break points either.

I'm stumped...

PoLyGLoT
Posts: 105
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2012 12:37 am

Re: Program works fine, but fails as standalone

Post by PoLyGLoT » Thu Oct 26, 2017 1:04 pm

Never mind! It was not opening within DP 10. I see the option now. I'll report back if it works (first try failed).

PoLyGLoT
Posts: 105
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2012 12:37 am

Re: Program works fine, but fails as standalone

Post by PoLyGLoT » Thu Oct 26, 2017 2:39 pm

So I am stumped: Program works fine in LiveCode, but fails as standalone. I have even tried selecting all the inclusions and it still fails. Why could this be?

Win 10 - LiveCode 9 DP 10

PoLyGLoT
Posts: 105
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2012 12:37 am

Re: Program works fine, but fails as standalone

Post by PoLyGLoT » Thu Oct 26, 2017 2:53 pm

OK, I got the standalone to work after selecting BOTH datagrid and table options in the DP 9 version.

Post Reply

Return to “Getting Started with LiveCode - Complete Beginners”