GPS bad accuracy

Got a LiveCode personal license? Are you a beginner, hobbyist or educator that's new to LiveCode? This forum is the place to go for help getting started. Welcome!

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller

Post Reply
tomsve
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2015 5:01 pm
Location: Ukraine/Armenia

GPS bad accuracy

Post by tomsve » Thu Aug 31, 2017 10:42 am

Are there any ways to get a higher precision while using the GPS? Right now I use this code;

Code: Select all

put mobileSensorReading("location", true) into aLocation
I can check the "accuracy" and only record the data if it's below a certain accuracy level, but it's just not accurate enough. When I connect my external Bluetooth Dual XGPS150 the accuracy is perfect. When using my iPhone I expect the accuracy to be lower than the external GPS, but not low like in a kilometer difference here and there.

Other apps are much more accurate than my LiveCode app. Any ideas what I can do?

Thanks!

MaxV
Posts: 1579
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 2:20 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: GPS bad accuracy

Post by MaxV » Thu Aug 31, 2017 3:00 pm

First of all the phone take time to get the precision location, it look for GPS antennas, then try to see Wi-Fi spots and then GPS.
It uses what it sense, so first of all wait.
Second of all you can't do any more, because the request is to get the best accuracy from your phone.
Livecode Wiki: http://livecode.wikia.com
My blog: https://livecode-blogger.blogspot.com
To post code use this: http://tinyurl.com/ogp6d5w

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 7210
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: GPS bad accuracy

Post by jacque » Fri Sep 01, 2017 4:15 pm

If you are on an Android phone you also need to make sure that you have GPS turned on ("high accuracy") in system settings.

In the Android standalone settings, also make sure you have selected both permissions for "fine location" and "coarse location".

For iOS standalone settings make sure that "location services" is selected.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

tomsve
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2015 5:01 pm
Location: Ukraine/Armenia

Re: GPS bad accuracy

Post by tomsve » Tue Oct 24, 2017 6:51 pm

I still have problems to get the accuracy to good enough while using the location service in LiveCode. Other apps, like Waze for example, makes the status bar visible like "Waze is Using Your Location". Could that make any difference perhaps?

A theory - may it be wrong or right - is that when I use my external GNSS bluetooth device with my LiveCode app, it is self-working and constantly have the position and it is reported back to the LiveCode app, while the LiveCode app without the deivce only get the location on-request (every second)...? I don't know... just brainstorming a little bit. :-)

Any ideas?

Thanks,
Tom

teriibi
Posts: 254
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2017 3:49 pm
Location: Bolivia

Re: GPS bad accuracy

Post by teriibi » Mon Jan 22, 2018 10:12 pm

I m VERY :) interested in getting to know the LC funcion acuracy too.

I guess I would first mesure it with another App on my device and then "try" to compare it to the LC stack numbers...and times taken.
For instance; I m using Whatsapp to share location.
It starts at 32m acuracy then after 10/20 seconds goes down to 4m. *See arrow.
Thats the best I can get, which is fine for me.
Its not a specialized tool to get Top positioning but most user I m targeting will not be Pros.
So I d be interesting to know what precision you can get with whatsapp within a 20 second time delay.
If LC doesnt get acurate that much or takes too long, it might not be interesting to include a GPS feature in my App.
Rather ask a user to copy/paste its location from another installed APP, right ?

Although I have the feeling that accuracy would not depend from LC but rather from :
- your HArdware
- Satelites numbers available
- buildings and trees arround
- Network used: Glonass, Compas, Galileo,GPS

Image

measuring "tool" /

Code: Select all

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.whatsapp&hl=us
Attachments
gps precision.jpg

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 7210
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: GPS bad accuracy

Post by jacque » Tue Jan 23, 2018 9:27 pm

LC just makes a call to the OS and reports what the OS says. Accuracy, as you mentioned, will depend on the device hardware.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

tomsve
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2015 5:01 pm
Location: Ukraine/Armenia

Re: GPS bad accuracy

Post by tomsve » Sat Feb 10, 2018 2:13 am

My findings regarding accuracy so far with my iPhone 6;

#1 Bluetooth Dual XGPS150 connected to my iPhone - works great. The screen can dim - no problem in accuracy.

#2 My location app is open and the screen is ON the whole time (I tap it not to get dark) - works well.

#3 My location app is open and I let the screen dim after some time - accuracy becomes very poor.

Regards,
Tom

Post Reply

Return to “Getting Started with LiveCode - Complete Beginners”