How can I edit a field in an arbitrary row in a DataGrid

Got a LiveCode personal license? Are you a beginner, hobbyist or educator that's new to LiveCode? This forum is the place to go for help getting started. Welcome!

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, kevinmiller

dpatterson

How can I edit a field in an arbitrary row in a DataGrid

Post by dpatterson » Wed Jan 18, 2017 8:33 pm

First post here.
First, a quick bit about me. I'm new to LiveCode, but have been doing software architecture, design, and development professionally for well over 30 years so I have a pretty good understanding of the concepts. :)

I'm working on a LiveCode project that displays a modal with a DataGrid table.

If the user selects one or more rows in the DataGrid and clicks the OK button, the selected rows are copied to another DataGrid table in the main stack.

I want to open an edit field in the first of the copied rows in main other stack.

This is the code in my OK button:

Code: Select all

on mouseUp
   lock screen
   put the dgHiLitedLines of group selectComponentGrid into rowNumbers
   put the dgData of group selectComponentGrid into rows
   put true into firstTime
   repeat for each item rowNumber in rowNumbers
      put rows[rowNumber] into row 
      dispatch "AddData" to group bomGrid of card inventoryItem of stack inventory with row
      if firstTime is true then
         # Set focus to this row's quantity field.
         put "quantity" into colName
         put the result into lineNo -- the result contains the index of the new row
         send "EditCellOfIndex colName lineNo" to group bomGrid on card "inventoryItem" of stack "inventory"
         # At this point the result contains "no control exists for index column"
         put false into firstTime
      end if
      #end if
   end repeat
   unlock screen
   close this stack
end mouseUp