Looking for a Plugin

Got a LiveCode personal license? Are you a beginner, hobbyist or educator that's new to LiveCode? This forum is the place to go for help getting started. Welcome!

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller

Post Reply
RossG
Posts: 247
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 7:38 am

Looking for a Plugin

Post by RossG » Sat Mar 05, 2016 11:53 pm

Back in the days of Rev 3 I had a handy plugin which, on
mouseOver of a field, button etc., would show the name
of the field, button etc.

Much easier than going to the Inspector and even handier
now that my memory isn't as good as it was then.

Can anyone give me the name of this plugin? I've tried
all the likely ones I have but not found it.
Is age an excuse? Eighty-four and counting.
Programming powered by coffee.

MaxV
Posts: 1579
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 2:20 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Looking for a Plugin

Post by MaxV » Wed Mar 23, 2016 1:47 am

Create a new stack,
put a field
then put this code:
########CODE#######
on openCard
mycheck
end openCard

on mycheck
put word 2 of the mousecontrol into temp
if temp is not empty then
if there is a control temp of the topstack then
put the name of control temp of the topstack into field 1
end if
end if
send mycheck to me in 1 sec
end mycheck
#####END OF CODE#####

Now you have your plugin.
Livecode Wiki: http://livecode.wikia.com
My blog: https://livecode-blogger.blogspot.com
To post code use this: http://tinyurl.com/ogp6d5w

RossG
Posts: 247
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 7:38 am

Re: Looking for a Plugin

Post by RossG » Sun May 15, 2016 1:22 am

MaxV

Tried this but haven't got it to work.
Will have another go when the spirit moves me.
Is age an excuse? Eighty-four and counting.
Programming powered by coffee.

MaxV
Posts: 1579
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 2:20 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Looking for a Plugin

Post by MaxV » Mon May 16, 2016 10:44 am

did you launch mychek at least 1 time?
the message OpenCard starts if you open a card, not on already opened card. Lauch it from the message box
Livecode Wiki: http://livecode.wikia.com
My blog: https://livecode-blogger.blogspot.com
To post code use this: http://tinyurl.com/ogp6d5w

MaxV
Posts: 1579
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 2:20 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Looking for a Plugin

Post by MaxV » Mon May 16, 2016 10:51 am

Livecode Wiki: http://livecode.wikia.com
My blog: https://livecode-blogger.blogspot.com
To post code use this: http://tinyurl.com/ogp6d5w

golive
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2015 5:16 am

Re: Looking for a Plugin

Post by golive » Wed May 18, 2016 2:25 am

RossG wrote:Back in the days of Rev 3 I had a handy plugin which, on
mouseOver of a field, button etc., would show the name
of the field, button etc.

Much easier than going to the Inspector and even handier
now that my memory isn't as good as it was then.

Can anyone give me the name of this plugin? I've tried
all the likely ones I have but not found it.
FYI Someone suggested using tooltips for this:

Code: Select all

on mouseEnter
  set the tooltip of me to the name of me
end mouseEnter

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 7229
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: Looking for a Plugin

Post by jacque » Wed May 18, 2016 5:25 pm

What I usually do is type "name" into the message box, put the mouse over the control, and hit the return key.

You can get any property this way, provided the message box is set to act on the mousecontrol, which is the default setting.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

Post Reply

Return to “Getting Started with LiveCode - Complete Beginners”