Page 1 of 1

Set the loc compilation error

Posted: Tue Jun 09, 2015 9:39 pm
by doobox
Hi there,

I can't understand what I have ran into here.

I can do this :

Code: Select all

on mouseUp
   set the loc of the first label of this card to 78,88
end mouseUp
I can't do this :

Code: Select all

on mouseUp
   set the loc of label "globalHtmlPositionLabel" of this card to 78,88
end mouseUp
This produces a compilation error "Button : compilation error at line 2 (set: missing 'to'), char 19"

Re: Set the loc compilation error

Posted: Tue Jun 09, 2015 9:53 pm
by richmond62
This is because a 'label' is NOT a LABEL it is a field.

Code: Select all

on mouseUp
   set the loc of fld "globalHtmlPositionLabel" of this card to 78,88
end mouseUp

Re: Set the loc compilation error

Posted: Tue Jun 09, 2015 9:56 pm
by doobox
OMG.. I need to take a break :-) Thank's for pointing that out. I have been going round in circles for at least 2 hours. And I doubt I'd have spotted my stupid mistake for another 2 either.

Re: Set the loc compilation error

Posted: Tue Jun 09, 2015 9:58 pm
by SparkOut
Yes but how can you

Code: Select all

set the loc of the first label of this card to 78,88
this may compile, but surely it doesn't work? Surely?

Re: Set the loc compilation error

Posted: Tue Jun 09, 2015 10:04 pm
by doobox
No that throws an execution error.
I was looking way past the wrongly naming a "field" - "label" and just baffling my self even further by the fact i could write : the first label of this card

I want to kick my self for calling a field a label :-)