the loc of ??? "tools palette"

Got a LiveCode personal license? Are you a beginner, hobbyist or educator that's new to LiveCode? This forum is the place to go for help getting started. Welcome!

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, kevinmiller

Post Reply
erikhans08
Posts: 87
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2015 2:01 am

the loc of ??? "tools palette"

Post by erikhans08 » Fri Apr 17, 2015 8:44 pm

(There is a stack "tools palette") = false
Tools Palette has disappeared and I don't know where to find it.
Also, it would be nice to put it where I want it on opening.
Something to do with opening a .rev file from the 3.5 license.
Thanks,
Erik Hansen

erikhans08
Posts: 87
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2015 2:01 am

Re: the loc of ??? "tools palette"

Post by erikhans08 » Fri Apr 17, 2015 8:50 pm

p.s. now Application Browser has gone lost.

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5043
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: the loc of ??? "tools palette"

Post by jacque » Sat Apr 18, 2015 7:06 pm

The name of the tool palette stack is "revTools". The name of the app browser stack is "revApplicationOverview".

The most common reason for stacks to go offscreen like that is if you run the IDE with those stacks on a second monitor and then disconnect that monitor. LC does remember the last location, but doesn't adjust for the change in screens. You can get them back into view by setting their locations from the message box. Or if you ever forget the names, you can delete your LC prefs and restart the IDE. It will create new prefs with all stacks in their default positions.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

WaltBrown
Posts: 466
Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 9:12 pm
Location: NE USA

Re: the loc of ??? "tools palette"

Post by WaltBrown » Sat Apr 18, 2015 11:38 pm

Erik, check this thread, and the attached stack I made a while ago, that shows where in infinite space every stack window is. I sometimes get the Dictionary started up at like -9000, -9000 sometimes, which is why I made it in the first place.

http://forums.livecode.com/viewtopic.ph ... een#p43300
Walt Brown
Omnis traductor traditor

dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 6082
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: the loc of ??? "tools palette"

Post by dunbarx » Mon Apr 20, 2015 3:26 am

HI.

Know also that you can always:

"answer the stacks"

This will only give a list of currently loaded stacks, so you may not see the application browser unless you already opened it. But at least you will see what is lurking, wherever that may be.

Craig Newman

erikhans08
Posts: 87
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2015 2:01 am

Re: the loc of ??? "tools palette"

Post by erikhans08 » Tue Apr 21, 2015 11:27 pm

Thanks for all the help. The external monitor must be the culprit.
View - LiveCode UI Elements in lists helped me find the rev... stacks.
Wrote commandKeyDown handlers to toggle and set the location for Application Browser, Tools Palette and Variable Watcher.
The poly.livecode idShowScreen stack is incredible, esp. with 10 subStacks.

"Answer the stacks " is very handy" but it does not show Paint and Draw Tools which is checked in the Tools Menu
and has also disappeared. There are so many LiveCode UI Elements that I couldn't find the Paint palette.
Something to do with /toolset/palettes/?

Erik Hansen

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5043
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: the loc of ??? "tools palette"

Post by jacque » Wed Apr 22, 2015 12:19 am

The paint and draw tools are part of the Tools palette, they aren't a separate stack. Just toggle the little arrow button to show or hide them.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

erikhans08
Posts: 87
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2015 2:01 am

Re: the loc of ??? "tools palette"

Post by erikhans08 » Thu Apr 23, 2015 8:49 pm

Thanks for the tip.

Post Reply

Return to “Getting Started with LiveCode - Complete Beginners”