Code organization

Got a LiveCode personal license? Are you a beginner, hobbyist or educator that's new to LiveCode? This forum is the place to go for help getting started. Welcome!

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller

JackieBlue

Code organization

Post by JackieBlue » Fri Aug 08, 2014 4:22 am

Hi. Where do you put common functions that you may want to use across cards? I am thinking something like modules but I didn't see any equivalent in live code everything references a card or object on a card. Thanks.

Simon
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer

Re: Code organization

Post by Simon » Fri Aug 08, 2014 4:59 am

Hi JackieBlue,
In the stack script :)
Take a look at the pretty picture here;
http://lessons.runrev.com/m/4603/l/4403 ... ssage-path
Ctrl+Shift+S or Cmd+Shift+S will get you there.

Simon
I used to be a newbie but then I learned how to spell teh correctly and now I'm a noob!

JackieBlue

Post by JackieBlue » Fri Aug 08, 2014 1:27 pm

I reviewed that. I'll take a look at the example stack but the documentation doesn't seem to address what I am talking about. I'd like to have a module with a bunch of functions that I can reuse across projects. For example, I have a VB code file that I wrote that I use on almost all my vb projects that handles all of the database functions - connection, execute commands, pull data and return, etc. This is coded for 2 different type of databases - MySQL and MS-SQL. I'd like to be able to replicate a similar functionality for LiveCode.

dunbarx

Post by dunbarx » Fri Aug 08, 2014 2:33 pm

Hi.

The hierarchy of LC is a fundamental concept. Learning how to add and to manipulate arrays are all well and good, but you simply MUST know how the LC structure is organized.