Page 1 of 1

Creating Standalone Application

Posted: Sun Jun 30, 2013 10:04 am
by Pip
Just started with Livecode Uni & have been working through the firstStack project.

When it comes to creating the standalone application, i get the mac & windows version but can not make one to run in the iPhone or iPad simulator.

The error I get is

"performing IOS arvm v6 (or universal) device builds require the IOS 5.1 SDK platform to be installed (available with Xcode 4.4)"

The question I have is, why do I need to install an older version of Xcode?

I would have thought having the most recent Xcode & Livecode, everything should work.

If I do need an older Xcode, do I delete the newest one first or can I have two version or more & if i do download a second one will it not overwrite the first one?

Any advice would be great,thanks.

Re: Creating Standalone Application

Posted: Sun Jun 30, 2013 10:32 am
by Mag
Hi Pip, as any other tools, also LiveCode uses iOS SDK to create the applications for iOS. For creating arvm v6 builds it's needed iOS SDK 5.1 which is available with Xcode 4.4. And yes: you can have two versions installed in different folders http://stackoverflow.com/questions/6693 ... -installed.

To create an app that supports just Arm v7, change the Build for option in the Stadalone Application Settings...

Re: Creating Standalone Application

Posted: Sun Jun 30, 2013 8:36 pm
by gordonshim
I'm having the same problem and tried your suggestion. I received error message that I need a "provisioning profile." I clicked on profile, but not able to set this. Help! Thank you in advance.

Re: Creating Standalone Application

Posted: Sun Jun 30, 2013 9:29 pm
by dave_probertGA6e24
Provisioning Profiles are defined in the Apple developer website. Login with your Apple Dev account and go through the couple of screens to setup the profile.

This is not a livecode thing directly.

Cheers,
Dave

Re: Creating Standalone Application

Posted: Mon Jul 01, 2013 12:27 am
by Mag
... then drag the provisioning file downloaded from Developer portal over your Xcode, or sync in Xcode -> Windows Menu -> Organizer, then you can choose that provisioning file in LiveCode's Stadalone Application Settings.

Note that there are at least two kind of provisioning files, one is application specific (with the app id com.mycompany.MyApp) and one generic for all your apps (with com.mycompany.*). If you are one that likes to explore a lot, better to create one of the second one kind I think, so you can use it in all your projects.

Re: Creating Standalone Application

Posted: Mon Jul 01, 2013 9:42 am
by Pip
OK. downloaded xCode 4.4.

Click on the download but it does not take me through any install process but just opens the Xcode logo.

If I click on this I get a message box open up saying "Xcode is an application downloaded from the internet. Are you sure you want to open it"

I choose "Open" & nothing happens.

Have I missed something?

Re: Creating Standalone Application

Posted: Tue Jul 02, 2013 2:30 pm
by Pip
Still can't figure this thing out, searched google for hours trying to find an answer but there must be a simple solution, help.

Re: Creating Standalone Application

Posted: Tue Jul 02, 2013 3:00 pm
by Mag
Pip wrote:Still can't figure this thing out, searched google for hours trying to find an answer but there must be a simple solution, help.
Do you have created a provisioning profile? (it's not a LiveCode thing)

What is your problem:

1. Can't create an universal app for iOS (which runs on Arm v6 + Arm v7)
2. Can't create an app for iOS

Re: Creating Standalone Application

Posted: Wed Jul 03, 2013 1:23 pm
by Pip
Problem is I need the 5.1 SDK to complete the ISO build

At the moment I have xCode 4.6 & that has 6.1 SDK

Have downloaded xCode 4.4 that has the 5.1 SDK but can not get the download to install.

Re: Creating Standalone Application

Posted: Wed Jul 03, 2013 2:06 pm
by Mag
Do you can compile an app for Arm v7 only?

Re: Creating Standalone Application

Posted: Thu Jul 04, 2013 3:33 pm
by Pip
I'm not trying to deploy to a device but just run in the simulator

Re: Creating Standalone Application

Posted: Thu Jul 04, 2013 4:06 pm
by Mag
OK, then the first step it's to go in the LC preferences and be sure that the iOS SDK is definited. See attachment.

Let us know if you done this step.

Re: Creating Standalone Application

Posted: Sat Jul 06, 2013 3:14 am
by gordonshim
I'm using 3 different macs to work on my apps. I was able to get LC simulator working on my first unit after getting the provisioning profile and certificate from apple. I followed a step-by procedure from some source (can't remember what it was now) and somehow got it going. When I installed the same on my 2nd and 3rd macs, I was unable to get my provisioning profile to work on one unit. That is, it's just not available and I'm certain it is in my Keychain access. The second unit recognizes the provisioning profile, but when I create the standalone app to test it, I get this message "could not find valid identity to use for selected profile." I'm fit to be tied! Can you help?? Thank you.

Re: Creating Standalone Application

Posted: Sat Jul 06, 2013 3:23 am
by gordonshim
dave_probertGA6e24 wrote:Provisioning Profiles are defined in the Apple developer website. Login with your Apple Dev account and go through the couple of screens to setup the profile.

This is not a livecode thing directly.

Cheers,
Dave

Thank you Dave. I got it to work on my first of 3 macs that I'm using. However, when I tried to configure my other 2 units, I got the provisioning profile to appear on one, but when saving my app before testing it on the simulator, I get this message "could not find valid identity to use for selected profile." I'm sure I got the certificate (it that's what it is referring to) in the right place and validated.
The second mac just doesn't display the profile that I keyed in. What's happening??

Re: Creating Standalone Application

Posted: Sun Jul 07, 2013 4:01 am
by Pip
Mag wrote:OK, then the first step it's to go in the LC preferences and be sure that the iOS SDK is definited. See attachment.

Let us know if you done this step.


Yes, I have done that step