Creating Standalone Application

Got a LiveCode personal license? Are you a beginner, hobbyist or educator that's new to LiveCode? This forum is the place to go for help getting started. Welcome!

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, kevinmiller

Post Reply
Pip
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2013 2:13 pm
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Creating Standalone Application

Post by Pip » Sun Jun 30, 2013 10:04 am

Just started with Livecode Uni & have been working through the firstStack project.

When it comes to creating the standalone application, i get the mac & windows version but can not make one to run in the iPhone or iPad simulator.

The error I get is

"performing IOS arvm v6 (or universal) device builds require the IOS 5.1 SDK platform to be installed (available with Xcode 4.4)"

The question I have is, why do I need to install an older version of Xcode?

I would have thought having the most recent Xcode & Livecode, everything should work.

If I do need an older Xcode, do I delete the newest one first or can I have two version or more & if i do download a second one will it not overwrite the first one?

Any advice would be great,thanks.

Mag
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 802
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 10:51 pm

Re: Creating Standalone Application

Post by Mag » Sun Jun 30, 2013 10:32 am

Hi Pip, as any other tools, also LiveCode uses iOS SDK to create the applications for iOS. For creating arvm v6 builds it's needed iOS SDK 5.1 which is available with Xcode 4.4. And yes: you can have two versions installed in different folders http://stackoverflow.com/questions/6693 ... -installed.

To create an app that supports just Arm v7, change the Build for option in the Stadalone Application Settings...
Attachments
655656.png

gordonshim
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2013 8:23 pm

Re: Creating Standalone Application

Post by gordonshim » Sun Jun 30, 2013 8:36 pm

I'm having the same problem and tried your suggestion. I received error message that I need a "provisioning profile." I clicked on profile, but not able to set this. Help! Thank you in advance.

dave_probertGA6e24
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 328
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2011 5:34 pm
Location: Thailand
Contact:

Re: Creating Standalone Application

Post by dave_probertGA6e24 » Sun Jun 30, 2013 9:29 pm

Provisioning Profiles are defined in the Apple developer website. Login with your Apple Dev account and go through the couple of screens to setup the profile.

This is not a livecode thing directly.

Cheers,
Dave
Coding in the Sun - So much Fun.
Visit http://electronic-apps.info for released App information.

Mag
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 802
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 10:51 pm

Re: Creating Standalone Application

Post by Mag » Mon Jul 01, 2013 12:27 am

... then drag the provisioning file downloaded from Developer portal over your Xcode, or sync in Xcode -> Windows Menu -> Organizer, then you can choose that provisioning file in LiveCode's Stadalone Application Settings.

Note that there are at least two kind of provisioning files, one is application specific (with the app id com.mycompany.MyApp) and one generic for all your apps (with com.mycompany.*). If you are one that likes to explore a lot, better to create one of the second one kind I think, so you can use it in all your projects.

Pip
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2013 2:13 pm
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Re: Creating Standalone Application

Post by Pip » Mon Jul 01, 2013 9:42 am

OK. downloaded xCode 4.4.

Click on the download but it does not take me through any install process but just opens the Xcode logo.

If I click on this I get a message box open up saying "Xcode is an application downloaded from the internet. Are you sure you want to open it"

I choose "Open" & nothing happens.

Have I missed something?

Pip
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2013 2:13 pm
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Re: Creating Standalone Application

Post by Pip » Tue Jul 02, 2013 2:30 pm

Still can't figure this thing out, searched google for hours trying to find an answer but there must be a simple solution, help.

Mag
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 802
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 10:51 pm

Re: Creating Standalone Application

Post by Mag » Tue Jul 02, 2013 3:00 pm

Pip wrote:Still can't figure this thing out, searched google for hours trying to find an answer but there must be a simple solution, help.
Do you have created a provisioning profile? (it's not a LiveCode thing)

What is your problem:

1. Can't create an universal app for iOS (which runs on Arm v6 + Arm v7)
2. Can't create an app for iOS

Pip
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2013 2:13 pm
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Re: Creating Standalone Application

Post by Pip » Wed Jul 03, 2013 1:23 pm

Problem is I need the 5.1 SDK to complete the ISO build

At the moment I have xCode 4.6 & that has 6.1 SDK

Have downloaded xCode 4.4 that has the 5.1 SDK but can not get the download to install.

Mag
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 802
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 10:51 pm

Re: Creating Standalone Application

Post by Mag » Wed Jul 03, 2013 2:06 pm

Do you can compile an app for Arm v7 only?

Pip
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2013 2:13 pm
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Re: Creating Standalone Application

Post by Pip » Thu Jul 04, 2013 3:33 pm

I'm not trying to deploy to a device but just run in the simulator

Mag
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 802
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 10:51 pm

Re: Creating Standalone Application

Post by Mag » Thu Jul 04, 2013 4:06 pm

OK, then the first step it's to go in the LC preferences and be sure that the iOS SDK is definited. See attachment.

Let us know if you done this step.
Attachments
ffdfd.png

gordonshim
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2013 8:23 pm

Re: Creating Standalone Application

Post by gordonshim » Sat Jul 06, 2013 3:14 am

I'm using 3 different macs to work on my apps. I was able to get LC simulator working on my first unit after getting the provisioning profile and certificate from apple. I followed a step-by procedure from some source (can't remember what it was now) and somehow got it going. When I installed the same on my 2nd and 3rd macs, I was unable to get my provisioning profile to work on one unit. That is, it's just not available and I'm certain it is in my Keychain access. The second unit recognizes the provisioning profile, but when I create the standalone app to test it, I get this message "could not find valid identity to use for selected profile." I'm fit to be tied! Can you help?? Thank you.

gordonshim
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2013 8:23 pm

Re: Creating Standalone Application

Post by gordonshim » Sat Jul 06, 2013 3:23 am

dave_probertGA6e24 wrote:Provisioning Profiles are defined in the Apple developer website. Login with your Apple Dev account and go through the couple of screens to setup the profile.

This is not a livecode thing directly.

Cheers,
Dave

Thank you Dave. I got it to work on my first of 3 macs that I'm using. However, when I tried to configure my other 2 units, I got the provisioning profile to appear on one, but when saving my app before testing it on the simulator, I get this message "could not find valid identity to use for selected profile." I'm sure I got the certificate (it that's what it is referring to) in the right place and validated.
The second mac just doesn't display the profile that I keyed in. What's happening??

Pip
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2013 2:13 pm
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Re: Creating Standalone Application

Post by Pip » Sun Jul 07, 2013 4:01 am

Mag wrote:OK, then the first step it's to go in the LC preferences and be sure that the iOS SDK is definited. See attachment.

Let us know if you done this step.


Yes, I have done that step

Post Reply

Return to “Getting Started with LiveCode - Complete Beginners”