When Livecode goes insane .... what are the reasons for it?

Got a LiveCode personal license? Are you a beginner, hobbyist or educator that's new to LiveCode? This forum is the place to go for help getting started. Welcome!

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, kevinmiller

Post Reply
makeshyft
Posts: 187
Joined: Mon Apr 15, 2013 4:41 am
Contact:

When Livecode goes insane .... what are the reasons for it?

Post by makeshyft » Thu Jun 13, 2013 10:39 pm

Hi everyone,

I was just working with my file, and everything was working fine. I copied some objects in and out of my background group, and didn't do anything major, I also tried to group some things together.....and didn't change any code, and my livecode LOST it. It hung itself in a loop, and seemed to have damaged my file. Thank God I had recently saved a backup.

So what are some of the reasons why the engine might be unstable...... just want to avoid them if I can. Are there are well known no-no's?

Cheers guys....

Tom
Tom @
http://www.makeshyft.com
---------------------------------
Changing the Future, Today!

dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 7312
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: When Livecode goes insane .... what are the reasons for

Post by dunbarx » Fri Jun 14, 2013 12:04 am

I have found LC to hang now and then, but never damage a file. Saving often is the key.

Usually, I look for a mirror to find the culprit in most of my work.

Craig Newman

paul_gr
Posts: 320
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2006 7:38 pm
Location: Blenheim, New Zealand

Re: When Livecode goes insane .... what are the reasons for

Post by paul_gr » Fri Jun 14, 2013 12:43 am

Hi Tom,
Yeah.. been there many times...
While I like LC, there are some annoyances.
Install the revArchive plugin into the LC plugins folder. Get it from
http://www2.altuit.com/webs/altuit2/Run ... lugins.htm
(bottom of the page)
It'll give you another small window with a button on it. Use it instead of the LC save...Each time you click, it will give you serialized copies of your stack. It can be a real lifesaver.

cheers
Paul

makeshyft
Posts: 187
Joined: Mon Apr 15, 2013 4:41 am
Contact:

Re: When Livecode goes insane .... what are the reasons for

Post by makeshyft » Fri Jun 14, 2013 6:22 am

Great plugin suggestion! thank you.

I know what you mean craig.... very often its the programmers responsibility, but in this case even simple message box commands didn't work.

Thanks guys....
Tom @
http://www.makeshyft.com
---------------------------------
Changing the Future, Today!

JGonz
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed May 22, 2013 2:21 pm

Re: When Livecode goes insane .... what are the reasons for

Post by JGonz » Fri Jun 14, 2013 12:01 pm

Hi,

got some strange things too, mainly when working with groups and graphics. Sometimes different items shown in the "application browser" and the "project browser", sometimes leaving me unable to work forth with my groups. Duplicate groups suddenly, graphics changing ID.

Couldn't reproduce yet, still trying. There might be a grue hiding in the darks of the code.

Have fun!

PS & Edit: Installed revArchive, hope this helps :)

JGonz
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed May 22, 2013 2:21 pm

Re: When Livecode goes insane .... what are the reasons for

Post by JGonz » Fri Jun 14, 2013 3:02 pm

Hi,

and another one, quite funny. Trying to make a sub-stack containing cards with a common background (1 'close' button and a grc in a background group), and all of a sudden (without any change to _any_ *mouse* handler!) the interface goes haywire and various window elements (including the LC menu bar) starts following my mouseLoc ...

Have fun!

makeshyft
Posts: 187
Joined: Mon Apr 15, 2013 4:41 am
Contact:

Re: When Livecode goes insane .... what are the reasons for

Post by makeshyft » Fri Jun 14, 2013 8:18 pm

Definitely, working with groups, pasting in and out of them is buggy, has to be done very carefully and NOT using hotkeys.

for example Sometimes when I paste something into a background group, it disappears!

Part of how to prevent these kinds of things is to plan well.

Thanks everyone.
Tom @
http://www.makeshyft.com
---------------------------------
Changing the Future, Today!

archer2009BUSknbj
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2013 8:09 am
Location: London

Re: When Livecode goes insane .... what are the reasons for

Post by archer2009BUSknbj » Sat Jun 15, 2013 6:33 pm

Well this is how my LiveCode screen looked like yesterday - Love to know what's up with this

One minute it was fine, the next all screwed up - happened when trying to install a Keystore files
Attachments
2013-ScreenShot-LiveCode-001.png

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5785
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: When Livecode goes insane .... what are the reasons for

Post by jacque » Sun Jun 16, 2013 6:46 pm

I'd report the problem as a bug. It looks like your stack has a resizestack handler and it is being incorrectly applied to the standalone settings stack when it opens.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

Post Reply

Return to “Getting Started with LiveCode - Complete Beginners”