Opinions on RunRev DVD Set 12 & RunRev Simulcast 12 For...

Got a LiveCode personal license? Are you a beginner, hobbyist or educator that's new to LiveCode? This forum is the place to go for help getting started. Welcome!

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller

shawnblc
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer

Opinions on RunRev DVD Set 12 & RunRev Simulcast 12 For...

Post by shawnblc » Mon Dec 17, 2012 11:23 pm

I'd like opinions on the RunRev DVD Set 12 & the RunRev 12 Simulcast for a complete newbie. I have no prior programming experience. Back 4-6 months ago I purchased the Gold Bundle and haven't made much of a dent in my LiveCode education. I'm hoping to change that.

Here's the link for the RunRev videos.

FourthWorld

Re: Opinions on RunRev DVD Set 12 & RunRev Simulcast 12 For.

Post by FourthWorld » Tue Dec 18, 2012 12:19 am

Have you read the User Guide?
Richard Gaskin
LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems
LiveCode Group on Facebook
LiveCode Group on LinkedIn

shawnblc

Post by shawnblc » Tue Dec 18, 2012 3:38 am

FourthWorld wrote:Have you read the User Guide?

I've had a LC license for 4-6months. Yes, I've read the User Guide, and have read many parts of the LC Dictionary. Even bought a copy of Colin's book. Are you politely trying to suggest that the videos are no better than the User Guide?

FourthWorld

Post by FourthWorld » Tue Dec 18, 2012 4:37 am

Not at all. It's just that most people looking for learning materials haven't yet cracked the User Guide. It's quite large - I'm impressed that you've read it.

The conferences are pretty good, IMO, but I'm biased since I speak at most of them. As useful as they can be, the topics often tend toward specific types of tasks rather than a sequence which can lend itself to getting started.

What parts of the language are you having trouble with? What sorts of things would you like to build, and how far have you gotten with them?
Richard Gaskin

Mark