Why am I seeing this?

Got a LiveCode personal license? Are you a beginner, hobbyist or educator that's new to LiveCode? This forum is the place to go for help getting started. Welcome!

Moderators: heatherlaine, Klaus, FourthWorld, kevinmiller

Post Reply
user#606
Posts: 217
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2008 12:25 pm
Location: Alderney, Channel Islands
Contact:

Why am I seeing this?

Post by user#606 » Wed Feb 14, 2018 7:15 pm

I attach a screen shot of the icons I see when I search the list for suitable alternatives.
As I hope you will see, bottom right is a semi transparent rectangle of a few of the possible pre-made icons. Oddly, there is no way to scroll through them. I discovered that if I click on a bottom one, it replaces the icon already in place on the list. The transparent rectangle can be called again and lower (hidden) icons are now showing. And so on.
This cannot be an intended process to select an icon from the list, for use.
What am I doing wrong?
Attachments
Why.JPG

Klaus
Posts: 10160
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Why am I seeing this?

Post by Klaus » Wed Feb 14, 2018 7:33 pm

What version of LC are you using?
Please always note the version!

On my Mac with LC 8.1.9 and LC 9 dp11 ther IS in fact a scrollbar, but that is really hard to see and use! I will check if there is already bug report/enhancement request about this.

user#606
Posts: 217
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2008 12:25 pm
Location: Alderney, Channel Islands
Contact:

Re: Why am I seeing this?

Post by user#606 » Wed Feb 14, 2018 8:52 pm

Hello Klaus.
The version is 8.1.8 on win 10.
I cannot see any hint of a scrollbar.
I am in fact trying to see the purpose of the Navigation bar, for my purposes.
My app will have control icons where the bar would be, top of mobile screen. However, the icons are not repeated throughout the application.
For example, Home - Turn page back - turn page forward - Index might be applicable in one section.
In another section, Home - Find on map - Index. might be elsewhere. The others would not be applicable, at all.
Can you shed light on this feature (Navigation Bar) because it is not mentioned in any guides I have looked up.
The same lack of info applies to Globe, clock, Title, Chart, Nav Bar, Tabs, SVG, Switch, Tree.
I agree, some are more obvious, but this should be in guides, somewhere.

FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 6027
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Why am I seeing this?

Post by FourthWorld » Wed Feb 14, 2018 9:06 pm

I see that here. I find I can scroll with my trackpad, and only during the scroll is the scrollbar evident. But bad UX, and UI as well since the transparency is a bit extreme.

If you submit a bug report on this please let us know the report ID here so we can follow along.
Richard Gaskin
Community volunteer LiveCode Community Liaison

LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems: http://FourthWorld.com
LiveCode User Group on Facebook : http://FaceBook.com/groups/LiveCodeUsers/

user#606
Posts: 217
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2008 12:25 pm
Location: Alderney, Channel Islands
Contact:

Re: Why am I seeing this?

Post by user#606 » Wed Feb 14, 2018 9:17 pm

As I have more pressing issues to resolve and think the Nav Bar is not the tool for me, see my last reply, I will leave the bug report to some one else. I am not familiar with the process anyway and cannot wait for it to be resolved.
Thank you for your confirmation of the issue though.
I am astonished no one has mentioned this odd behaviour before now.
Perhaps it indicates the nav Bar is not a useful device.

Klaus
Posts: 10160
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Why am I seeing this?

Post by Klaus » Wed Feb 14, 2018 9:52 pm

This is really not a "Navbar" issue, but an issue with the SVG image picker window (stack?)!

user#606
Posts: 217
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2008 12:25 pm
Location: Alderney, Channel Islands
Contact:

Re: Why am I seeing this?

Post by user#606 » Wed Feb 14, 2018 9:58 pm

The Nav Bar is the control that has this picker issue. I have just looked at both with the object inspector. The SVG does not appear to have such a picker as my screen shot.
I don't think I am mistaken.

Klaus
Posts: 10160
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Why am I seeing this?

Post by Klaus » Wed Feb 14, 2018 11:23 pm

This picker is available in these widgets:
Navigation Bar
SVG Icon
Header Bar
Segmented control

Sorry, maybe I was mistaken, I meant:
...but an issue with the image picker window (stack?) for widgets that use SVG icons!

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 4501
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: Why am I seeing this?

Post by jacque » Thu Feb 15, 2018 6:42 pm

Can you shed light on this feature (Navigation Bar) because it is not mentioned in any guides I have looked up.
Widgets are listed in the dictionary under their own names. At the upper left is a popdown button set to "LiveCode script" by default. You can change that to view information about LC Builder or other libraries and widgets.

I gave up on the SVG picker and now use this tool instead:

http://forums.livecode.com/viewtopic.ph ... 55#p162655
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

user#606
Posts: 217
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2008 12:25 pm
Location: Alderney, Channel Islands
Contact:

Re: Why am I seeing this?

Post by user#606 » Thu Feb 15, 2018 8:41 pm

Thank you Klaus & Jacque, I looked in the dictionary, but never thought about it being a widget. Silly me.
That seems to answer the problem. I can move on.

Post Reply

Return to “Getting Started with LiveCode - Complete Beginners”