What is wrong with Livecodes understanding of File names?

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, kevinmiller, asayd

Post Reply
chris25
Posts: 354
Joined: Tue Oct 08, 2013 9:32 pm

What is wrong with Livecodes understanding of File names?

Post by chris25 » Wed Oct 16, 2013 12:56 pm

Screen shot 2013-10-16 at 12.52.42.png
This sort of thing is happening too much. A file name only needs just an extra character in order to make it different from the original. So why does livecode present me with these messages despite making the file name always different from the original? The thing is It Is Not The Same is it?

Chris

dave.kilroy
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 835
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2009 1:17 pm
Location: Plymouth, UK
Contact:

Re: What is wrong with Livecodes understanding of File names

Post by dave.kilroy » Wed Oct 16, 2013 1:46 pm

Hi Chris

A stack name is not the same as the stack's file name. The IDE is complaining it already has a stack with the same name (even though the file names are different). There are various ways forward for you but one is to simply change the stack's name (in the inspector).

Dave
"...this is not the code you are looking for..."

FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5386
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: What is wrong with Livecodes understanding of File names

Post by FourthWorld » Wed Oct 16, 2013 1:47 pm

It's not the file name, it's the stack name. LC is able to allow references to stacks by their short name by requiring that each open stack have a unique name.

Do you need the one in your temp directory? What are you aiming to do?
Richard Gaskin
Community volunteer LiveCode Community Liaison

LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems: http://FourthWorld.com
LiveCode User Group on Facebook : http://FaceBook.com/groups/LiveCodeUsers/

dave.kilroy
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 835
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2009 1:17 pm
Location: Plymouth, UK
Contact:

Re: What is wrong with Livecodes understanding of File names

Post by dave.kilroy » Wed Oct 16, 2013 1:50 pm

Of course the other option for you is to close and re-open LiveCode - and then because neither of your stacks with the same name will be in memory you can open whichever one you wish without conflicts...
"...this is not the code you are looking for..."

chris25
Posts: 354
Joined: Tue Oct 08, 2013 9:32 pm

Re: What is wrong with Livecodes understanding of File names

Post by chris25 » Wed Oct 16, 2013 4:43 pm

Thankyou gentlemen, I understand it now. Thanks Dave. FouthWorld, When I go back after a little while to re-do the same exercise (so as to cement the learning) I just want my original (in case I forget something) to be alongside the newly opened identical stack as I work on it.

Post Reply

Return to “LiveCode University”