Unable to name new cards within a stack

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, asayd

chris25

Unable to name new cards within a stack

Post by chris25 » Thu Oct 10, 2013 5:38 pm

Having spent almost 1 and half hours on lesson: Objects Exercise, I am at my end. the lesson misses vital information for a complete beginner and have managed to find the first answer dug deep in some help file. But i am really confused now on my last problem, here once again the lesson does not guide you at all. It says to name each card after you have created the stack. I have tried, and I simply can not name each card.

Firstly, naming a card just changes the whole lot to the same name, each card is named exactly the same. Double clicking the card name in the application browser and selecting the inspector gives you only the same box that you had when you named the original stack. Filling in title seems to do Exactly the same thing as filling in the name in the inspector. The tutorials are silent on how you actually name a card. So I am lost. It is simple Logic says you double click the card and access the inspector and give a new name. Please help.

Simon
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer

Re: Unable to name new cards within a stack

Post by Simon » Thu Oct 10, 2013 6:26 pm

I would really love to do a live presentation on this.
chris25, if you are here now 10:25 am PST I could set one up.

Or we set a time, maybe I'll be available.

Simon
I used to be a newbie but then I learned how to spell teh correctly and now I'm a noob!

jacque

Post by jacque » Thu Oct 10, 2013 7:51 pm

It sounds like you're renaming the stack rather than the card. If you are using the application browser (rather than the new Project Browser) be sure you have expanded the stack by clicking the small arrow at the left of the stack name. Then you will see all the cards listed. Those are what you inspect in order to rename them.

Does your stack have more than one card?