Looking for Help on a Project

Got a LiveCode personal license? Are you a beginner, hobbyist or educator that's new to LiveCode? This forum is the place to go for help getting started. Welcome!

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller

Re: Looking for Help on a Project

Postby bidgeeman » Fri Jun 02, 2017 7:34 am

I'm looking at Text in Livecode and wondered if there was any way you could assign text to a set path, ie, a circle or a curve graphic? I can't seem to find anything on this subject anywhere in Livecode.

Thanks
Bidge
bidgeeman
 
Posts: 313
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 7:58 am
Location: Australia

Re: Looking for Help on a Project

Postby bidgeeman » Sun Jun 04, 2017 8:58 am

Hi Again.

I need help removing Alphadata from an image. I am trying to get a soft masked effect around a photo and I applied this:
Code: Select all
on mouseUp
   put the width of image "i1" into tImageWidth
   put the height of image "i1" into tImageHeight
   set the width of image "mask" to tImageWidth
   set the height of image "mask" to tImageHeight
   set the alphadata of img "i1" to the alphadata of img "mask"
end mouseUp

All works well but I want to be able to clear it away and I have no idea how to clear it. If I try to place another image with no alphadata in it like a black box the two alphachannels combine and stuck together with a strange effect.
Is there a command that will clear all the alphadata from the image "i1"????

Many thanks for any help.
Bidge
bidgeeman
 
Posts: 313
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 7:58 am
Location: Australia

Re: Looking for Help on a Project

Postby bidgeeman » Sat Jun 17, 2017 2:20 am

Hi Again.
Is it possible to turn the "Focus" off a text area but still have the text area responsive to text input?
Reason is, I need to take a snapshot of my work area and each time I take a snapshot it picks up a
horrible line where the "Focus" bar sits in the text area. I know can turn it off with "set focus to nothing"
in the snapshot code but I just wondered if there was another way to turn it off altogether?

Thanks
Bidge
bidgeeman
 
Posts: 313
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 7:58 am
Location: Australia

Re: Looking for Help on a Project

Postby jacque » Sat Jun 17, 2017 5:13 pm

Do you mean the colored border that surrounds the field? That's a field property and you can remove it by setting the focusBorder to false either in the property inspector or by script.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com
jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
 
Posts: 3597
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN

Re: Looking for Help on a Project

Postby bidgeeman » Sun Jun 18, 2017 1:37 am

Hi Jacque.
Thank you. I have struck hopefully one of the last issues that is a little beyond my coding ability.

I need to stop an image from being dragged outside the stack area, or at least have the image
come back slightly onto the screen area so that it doesn't disappear and become irretrievable
by the mouse. I am using this to move the image area:
Code: Select all
on mouseMove
   if the mouse is down then   
      set  the loc of image "i1" to  the mouseLoc   
   end if
end mouseMove


and my stack area is 594, 842
Many thanks for any help.
Bidge
bidgeeman
 
Posts: 313
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 7:58 am
Location: Australia

Re: Looking for Help on a Project

Postby bogs » Sun Jun 18, 2017 3:32 pm

bidge, I popped your code into an untitled stack as is, then moved the image outside of the stack area. It went right back to the mouseLoc clicking anywhere inside the stack area, right under the mouse, so I'm not sure how it would become "irretrievable" at any point?
bogs
 
Posts: 101
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: Looking for Help on a Project

Postby jmburnod » Sun Jun 18, 2017 3:46 pm

Hi Bidge,
Here is a thread about what you want to do
http://forums.livecode.com/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=29242&start=15
Best regards
Jean-Marc
jmburnod
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
 
Posts: 1846
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 5:35 pm
Location: Genève

Re: Looking for Help on a Project

Postby bidgeeman » Sun Jun 18, 2017 11:09 pm

Thank you again for the replies jmburnod and bogs.
I found a little stack called "draggy" which keeps an object just inside the boundaries of a card.

Regards
Bidge
bidgeeman
 
Posts: 313
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 7:58 am
Location: Australia

Re: Looking for Help on a Project

Postby bidgeeman » Mon Jun 19, 2017 1:27 am

Hi Again. "SOLVED"
I am using this code in my main stack to hide a substack on minimize but nothing happens?
Code: Select all
on iconifyStack
   hide stack "SecondStack"
end iconifyStack
on unIconifyStack
show stack "SecondStack"
unIconifyStack



Can anyone offer some advice?
Many thanks
Bidge
bidgeeman
 
Posts: 313
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 7:58 am
Location: Australia

Re: Looking for Help on a Project

Postby SparkOut » Mon Jun 19, 2017 7:08 am

Looks OK really. "Nothing happens" means literally nothing? Does the main stack minimize/restore but not the second stack?
It may be that the message isn't firing because it is trapped in another script - have you got any "test" or "legacy" on iconifyStack handlers anywhere in any other scripts or stacks open? The mode of the stack is not modal and forced to float above everything is it?
Maybe put a lock screen before and unlock screen after the show/hide to make sure the screen is updated.
SparkOut
 
Posts: 1601
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2007 4:58 pm

Re: Looking for Help on a Project

Postby bidgeeman » Mon Jun 19, 2017 7:22 am

Hi Sparkout.
I forgot the "end" in front of the last "unIconifyStack"
Works perfectly now :)

I am really enjoying using Runrev, (Livecode), again. It's quite addictive.

Cheers
Bidge
bidgeeman
 
Posts: 313
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 7:58 am
Location: Australia

Re: Looking for Help on a Project

Postby bidgeeman » Tue Jun 20, 2017 6:39 am

I have a really curly one that is sending me crazy:
Trying to stick two stacks side by side so they move together:
They keep drifting apart and I suddenly realized what is doing it but I can't solve the problem.
One stack is scaled down to .7. This is causing a parallax effect when the stacks are moved.
Anyone know what I can do to compensate for this?

My codes are:
MAIN STACK
Code: Select all
on openStack
   
   set the right of stack "Slave" to the left of stack "Main" 
   set the top of stack "Slave" to the top of stack "Main"
end openStack

on moveStack
   set the right of stack "Slave" to the left of stack "Main" 
   set the top of stack "Slave" to the top of stack "Main"
end moveStack


SLAVE STACK:
Code: Select all
on moveStack
   set the left of stack "Main" to the right of stack "Slave"
   set the top of stack "Main" to the top of stack "Slave"
end moveStack


Thanks for any advice it's sending me nuts :(
Bidge
bidgeeman
 
Posts: 313
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 7:58 am
Location: Australia

Re: Looking for Help on a Project

Postby SparkOut » Tue Jun 20, 2017 6:51 am

Do you mean you get a sliver of desktop showing between the stacks as the screen rerenders one stack then moves the other? I fixed this by making a background stack to drag around with the other two stacks positioned on top of that.
If you are getting the stacks sliding about and spreading apart then I would need to look in more detail at all the code.
SparkOut
 
Posts: 1601
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2007 4:58 pm

Re: Looking for Help on a Project

Postby bidgeeman » Tue Jun 20, 2017 6:57 am

Hi Sparkout.
No, one of the stacks move faster than the other so they eventually cross over each other. I created a test stack
with the code as is and they moved perfectly together. Then I scaled one down and they both moved at different speeds.
Like the parallax effect you get when two backgrounds are on separate layers and one is moving quicker than the other.

Bidge
bidgeeman
 
Posts: 313
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 7:58 am
Location: Australia

Re: Looking for Help on a Project

Postby Klaus » Tue Jun 20, 2017 2:10 pm

I read the whole thread but did not find any relation to "IDE Contributors"!? 8)
Willl move it to the "Getting started - Complete beginners" forum.
Klaus
 
Posts: 9278
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany

PreviousNext

Return to Getting Started with LiveCode - Complete Beginners

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest