IPv6 support?

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, LCMark

Locked
malte
Posts: 1098
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 8:34 pm
Location: Ostenfeld germany
Contact:

IPv6 support?

Post by malte » Wed Jan 15, 2014 3:10 pm

Hi all,

I got the first customers complaining of an app not supporting IPv6 Networks. What I do in the app is opening a socket. What happens is that the hostname can not be resolved (this is what liveCode reports). So my question is: Does liveCode support IPv6 Adresses? If not, can this be implemented? What would be involved? Where would one need to look?

BvG
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 1236
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 1:10 pm
Location: Zurich
Contact:

Re: IPv6 support?

Post by BvG » Thu Jan 16, 2014 5:10 pm

You try it out yourself of course!

first you need ip's to test with. Get a known, working ipv6 as well as an ip v4 address (Google is your friend):
https://developers.google.com/speed/pub ... docs/using

test 1:
try to find out their domain name, with the hostAddressToName() function:
8.8.8.8 --> google-public-dns-a.google.com
2001:4860:4860::8888 --> 0.0.7.209

test 1 result:
seems to be doing something, there's a result but not an error, however the result seems garbled and useless.

test 2:
try to connect a socket using 'open socket to "<ip here>"':
8.8.8.8 --> <nothing>
2001:4860:4860::8888 --> not a valid port

test 2 result:
does not work!


conclusion:
DNS integration is weird, but sockets do not work so it doesn't matter, it's not going to work anyway.

Note that there's no socket support on mobiles, and urls are implemented differently, so you'd need to test it there yourself (however, knowing that LC uses iOS or Android supplied url services, most likely ipv6 will work on mobiles).
Various teststacks and stuff:
http://bjoernke.com

Chat with other RunRev developers:
chat.freenode.net:6666 #livecode

Locked

Return to “Engine Contributors”