Building on Linux

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, LCMark

Locked
MaxV
Posts: 1579
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 2:20 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Building on Linux

Post by MaxV » Thu Dec 12, 2013 1:54 pm

Hello,
I'm trying to build on x86 32bit Linux, so I did:

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get update

sudo apt-get install make gcc g++ libX11-dev libXext-dev libXrender-dev libXft-dev libXinerama-dev libXv-dev libXcursor-dev libfreetype6-dev libgtk2.0-dev libpopt-dev libesd0-dev liblcms-dev

git clone --recursive https://github.com/runrev/livecode.git

cd livecode

MODE=release make development
Is this procedure correct?

Well, it seems to me that the Revolution.lnx binary in prebuilt/bin directory creates incorrect .cpp source files.
Those files contain missing or wrong variables like: pArg1, pArg2, pArg3, pArg4, pArg5
:shock:

What is the correct procedure to build Livecode?
Livecode Wiki: http://livecode.wikia.com
My blog: https://livecode-blogger.blogspot.com
To post code use this: http://tinyurl.com/ogp6d5w

LCfraser
Livecode Staff Member
Livecode Staff Member
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu Nov 28, 2013 11:18 am
Contact:

Re: Building on Linux

Post by LCfraser » Fri Dec 13, 2013 6:07 pm

Hi again MaxV,

It is possible that the submodule pointers haven't been updated properly for the submodules in our GitHub repo. Try the following:

Code: Select all

cd prebuilt
git checkout develop
cd ../ide
git checkout develop
cd ../thirdparty
git checkout develop
And hopefully that will help.

monte
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 1564
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 1:47 am
Contact:

Re: Building on Linux

Post by monte » Sat Dec 14, 2013 7:11 am

Hmm... is there an advantage to doing that over

Code: Select all

git submodule update
Submodules are such a headache though... I have no idea why submodule init and update is not automatic when you checkout the parent repo.
LiveCode User Group on Facebook : http://FaceBook.com/groups/LiveCodeUsers/

LCfraser
Livecode Staff Member
Livecode Staff Member
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu Nov 28, 2013 11:18 am
Contact:

Re: Building on Linux

Post by LCfraser » Sat Dec 14, 2013 12:24 pm

The advantage is that it definitely checks out those branches on the submodules. I have a feeling that the develop and master branches of the main repo still point to the 6.1.x versions of the submodules (which won't work for 6.5.x). When I'm back in the office on Monday, I'll make sure everything is up-to-date; I can't see an obvious way to do it via GitHub.

Locked

Return to “Engine Contributors”