Another Group property

Something you want to see in a LiveCode product? Want a new forum set up for a specific topic? Talk about it here.

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, robinmiller, kevinmiller

Post Reply
chipsm
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 219
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 7:50 pm
Location: Southern California

Another Group property

Post by chipsm » Tue Jan 15, 2019 4:40 pm

I am interested in the possibility of adding another Group Property.
I would be interested in having the ability to "get the childControllabel of group".
it would be similar to the "get the childControlNames of group" command
I waas able to create a workaround but having this ability would make line great.
Clarence Martin

Klaus
Posts: 11227
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Another Group property

Post by Klaus » Tue Jan 15, 2019 4:46 pm

Sorry, don't get it, what should "the childControllabel of grp xyz" return?

chipsm
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 219
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 7:50 pm
Location: Southern California

Re: Another Group property

Post by chipsm » Tue Jan 15, 2019 4:59 pm

Sorry, I meant to post a use case.
I use a group of buttons in a group, but as radio buttons. Their names would be "Radio". if you invoke the childControlNames of group it would return "Radio" as a name for each button. I would like to see which button is selected using a "Select Case' function. If I know the label of each button, this would be useful. Since the name of each button is "Radio".
I use this technique to create a menu selection group with radio buttons.
Clarence Martin

chipsm
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 219
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 7:50 pm
Location: Southern California

Re: Another Group property

Post by chipsm » Tue Jan 15, 2019 6:11 pm

ok, I just had a misunderstanding of the Radio Button Property.
I thought that a group of buttons had to be defined, in their instantiation as radio buttons.
I didn't realize that any group of buttons could be defined as "radio buttons in the group properties on that group". So, each button in the group can have its own name and still be a "Radio" button. so, this request is not necessary.
Thanks for your patience with this matter, my mistake.
Clarence Martin

FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 6872
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Another Group property

Post by FourthWorld » Tue Jan 15, 2019 8:22 pm

chipsm wrote:
Tue Jan 15, 2019 4:59 pm
Sorry, I meant to post a use case.
I use a group of buttons in a group, but as radio buttons. Their names would be "Radio". if you invoke the childControlNames of group it would return "Radio" as a name for each button. I would like to see which button is selected using a "Select Case' function. If I know the label of each button, this would be useful. Since the name of each button is "Radio".
I use this technique to create a menu selection group with radio buttons.
Why not set the name of the radio buttons to something meaningful, and leave the label empty?
Richard Gaskin
Community volunteer LiveCode Community Liaison

LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems: http://FourthWorld.com
LiveCode User Group on Facebook : http://FaceBook.com/groups/LiveCodeUsers/

chipsm
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 219
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 7:50 pm
Location: Southern California

Re: Another Group property

Post by chipsm » Tue Jan 15, 2019 11:23 pm

Hi Richard. Good to hear from you.
I must admit that I have made a Big Mistake. In my desire to create a button tab group, I let my mind wander down a rabbit hole. I somehow got caught into thinking that radio buttons had to have the same name when putting into a Radio Button Group. I ran with this blindly and therefore was misled in my pursuit of this button tab group. That was why I named all of the buttons with the same name. Boy, did I make a blunder and so iI followed this wrong route. I know what mistake I made and now I'm back on track.
I am sorry if this posting created confusion for anyone.
Clarence Martin

bogs
Posts: 3836
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: Another Group property

Post by bogs » Tue Jan 15, 2019 11:43 pm

chipsm wrote:
Tue Jan 15, 2019 11:23 pm
I let my mind wander down a rabbit hole...
I just did that myself with a little utility Sphere and I are playing with. Damned wasscally wabbits :twisted:
Image

Post Reply

Return to “Feature Requests”