Break Script editor into halves?

Something you want to see in a LiveCode product? Want a new forum set up for a specific topic? Talk about it here.

Moderators: heatherlaine, Klaus, FourthWorld, robinmiller, kevinmiller

Post Reply
dunbarx
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5569
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: New York, NY

Break Script editor into halves?

Post by dunbarx » Fri Dec 08, 2017 11:16 pm

I really would love this. In debugging it would save so much scrolling.

Like Excel, be able to split the script editor into two independent scrolling sections of user defined height. This way one could watch a portion of a script that calls another, breakpoints in either as needed, and see the flow of execution as it moves from one line to another, oftentimes distant one.

As long as we are at it, do the same for the variable pane.

No idea how hard that would be, or if I am the only one.

Craig

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2733
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Break Script editor into halves?

Post by richmond62 » Sat Dec 09, 2017 6:50 pm

No: you are not the only one.

With all the buttons in my Devawriter containing about 6,000 lines of code any way to have multiple views would be magic.

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2733
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Break Script editor into halves?

Post by richmond62 » Sat Dec 09, 2017 7:54 pm


richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2733
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Break Script editor into halves?

Post by richmond62 » Sat Dec 09, 2017 8:00 pm

Already perfectly possible:

viewtopic.php?f=5&t=26847
clock.png
clock.png (5.19 KiB) Viewed 677 times

Post Reply

Return to “Feature Requests”