Page 1 of 1

Lets send a message when MAXIMIZE stack is pressed

Posted: Thu Mar 06, 2014 8:53 pm
by makeshyft
Hi Runrev, please send a message when the maximize stack button is pressed ... there are workarounds, but they don't actually work 100%.

It actually blows my mind a little that there isn't a message sent.... is there an actual reason for that?

Thank you,

Tom

Re: Lets send a message when MAXIMIZE stack is pressed

Posted: Thu Mar 06, 2014 9:47 pm
by BvG
Dunnow about the reason... maybe because only on windows maximize actually is different from a normal resize?

The age-old workaround is in fact to check in a stackResize message wether the stack is the same size as the screen...

Re: Lets send a message when MAXIMIZE stack is pressed

Posted: Thu Mar 06, 2014 10:55 pm
by makeshyft
yeah...the workaround works 99% (you have to manually account for taskbar and the window behaves just slightly differently than a maximized one..)...good enough for what I need right now.....but seriously ..... one would think this is a no brainer, which is why I think there might be an actual reason for not having it....your guess is as good as mine.

Re: Lets send a message when MAXIMIZE stack is pressed

Posted: Thu Mar 06, 2014 11:04 pm
by richmond62
One possible reason is because Livecode is 99% cross-platform, and maybe the signals that are sent to the OS / Window manager / Desktop manager is different
for every Operating system (and in the case of Linux, every desktop manager).