customizing the answer dialogue box

The place to discuss anything and everything about running your LiveCode on Android

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, kevinmiller, robinmiller

Klaus
Posts: 12195
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: customizing the answer dialogue box

Post by Klaus » Sun Sep 22, 2019 4:11 pm

Hi friends,

some clarifications:
1. Paul needs a solution for Android.
2. So all tricks with STACKS will not work for him.
3. The HTML-tricks will not work, since they will only alter the ASK and ANSWER Dalog STACKS!
4. Since we can only have ONE window (stack) open and displayed at a time on the mobile platform.
ALL stacks will open FULLSCREEN here and we cannot change this behaviour (yet?)!

I would also recommend to use goups, disguised as dialogs. :-)
Set the layer of the group to TOP before showing, add a semitransparent background (filled graphic or whatever with blendlevel set)
to the group behind your buttons and/or fields and it will look as a dialog box and the user cannot click anywhere on the card but
on the buttons you supply in the group just like a nice custom modal dialog!

Best

Klaus

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5832
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: customizing the answer dialogue box

Post by jacque » Sun Sep 22, 2019 4:55 pm

Mobile apps are limited to one window at a time and are always full screen, so you can't show one smaller stack over another. The only way to get custom dialogs on mobile is to make a group and show that on the current card.

If you will need the dialog on more than one card, you can store it as an unplaced group in the stack and then place it and remove it as needed. That saves having to maintain duplicates.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5384
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria

Re: customizing the answer dialogue box

Post by richmond62 » Sun Sep 22, 2019 5:19 pm

Mobile apps are limited to one window
So . . .
-
WOZZUP.png

bogs
Posts: 5091
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: customizing the answer dialogue box

Post by bogs » Sun Sep 22, 2019 9:42 pm

Well, least I think I understand why my solution wouldn't work. Richmond's is running on the simulator though, isn't it? Doesn't that simulator only allow what the phone would allow?
Image

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5384
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria

Re: customizing the answer dialogue box

Post by richmond62 » Sun Sep 22, 2019 10:08 pm

Richmond's is running on the simulator though
Possibly, but not with me: I just had some fun with some graphics. :D

bogs
Posts: 5091
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: customizing the answer dialogue box

Post by bogs » Sun Sep 22, 2019 10:34 pm

Oh you sneak ...! :twisted:
Image

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5384
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria

Re: customizing the answer dialogue box

Post by richmond62 » Mon Sep 23, 2019 7:54 am

Screenshot 2019-09-23 at 9.50.54.png
Screenshot 2019-09-23 at 9.50.54.png (14.03 KiB) Viewed 1670 times
-
Screenshot 2019-09-23 at 9.52.00.png
-
That didn't do much good: or at least Bluestacks didn't like it:

https://www.bluestacks.com/about-us/app-player.html

HOWEVER: I do NOT believe my pictures corrupted the build. 8)

Post Reply

Return to “Android Deployment”