Android status bar bug

The place to discuss anything and everything about running your LiveCode on Android

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

Post Reply
brotee
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2016 9:15 am

Android status bar bug

Post by brotee » Wed Jul 18, 2018 10:13 pm

I've compiled the APP with status bar hidden, and it's working well.

when keyboard comes up (status bar comes up too) and i press down key on keyboard to hide the status bar, the screen over the status bar becomes black, and i can't do anything with that, only app restart helps.

i've tried to run mobileHideStatusBar too, still the same.

Attached 3 screens
Attachments
3.jpg
2.jpg
1.jpg

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 7228
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: Android status bar bug

Post by jacque » Thu Jul 19, 2018 5:57 pm

Do you mean the navigation bar at the bottom? None of the screenshots show the top status bar.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

brotee
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2016 9:15 am

Re: Android status bar bug

Post by brotee » Thu Jul 19, 2018 6:25 pm

Yep, sorry, navigation bar, when keyboard goes down, spot of navigation bar will be black.

And if i put anything there you can't see on the phone

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 7228
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: Android status bar bug

Post by jacque » Fri Jul 20, 2018 12:15 am

I think you should report this as a bug at http://quality.livecode.com.
For now, you might be able to work around it if you add this to the script when the keyboard deactivates:

Code: Select all

set the backcolor of this stack to the backcolor of this stack
That forces the engine to redraw the card.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

brotee
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2016 9:15 am

Re: Android status bar bug

Post by brotee » Fri Jul 20, 2018 9:05 am

so.. i'll try to explain what's happening

with LC9.01:

sometimes the whole stack goes up with the height of navbar, sometimes not, but the navbar spot remains black. if the stack is moving up, the native input fields goes up too sometimes, sometimes not?!!!

keyboardDeactivated is not firing!!!!! but if i check top of the stack it shows zero

different behavior if i press down arrow on keyboard, or if i press return.

i've tried everything, but couldn't make it work

with LC 9.00 AND 8.1.9:

everything works, except if i CLOSE the keyboard all of the controls jump once. But atleast they go back to the original position, doesn't look well, but atleast it's working.

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 7228
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: Android status bar bug

Post by jacque » Fri Jul 20, 2018 7:31 pm

The scrolling behavior when the whole card moves is a very old bug. It is a side-effect of acceleratedRendering and isn't really supposed to happen. The only fix that I know about is to turn off acceleratedRendering on that card. If the keyboard will cover the field, you can move it in a keyboardActivated handler using the "move" command. Then on keyboardDeactivated, move it back down where it belongs. I had to use this workaround in my current project.

There is a bug report on this and Mark Waddingham suggested we need a command to scroll the card on demand, which would be a great idea. If your field is high enough on the card that the keyboard doesn't cover it, you don't need to do anything except set acceleratedRendering to false. When you open a card that does need it, set acceleratedRendering to true again on preOpenCard.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

Post Reply

Return to “Android Deployment”