Page 1 of 1

mac address

Posted: Wed Jun 27, 2018 12:23 pm
by DPaul
Can someone tell me how to get livecode to retrieve a devices unique network mac address?

Thanks,
DPaul

Re: mac address

Posted: Wed Jun 27, 2018 12:41 pm
by Klaus
Hi Paul,

check this (and of coure all the other cool tips on that website!):
http://www.sonsothunder.com/devres/live ... env001.htm


Best

Klaus

Re: mac address

Posted: Wed Jun 27, 2018 1:15 pm
by DPaul
I forgot to say that I want to get it from an android device.

Re: mac address

Posted: Wed Jun 27, 2018 2:01 pm
by Klaus
I forgot to say that I want to get it from an android device.
Yes, you did! :D

Sorry, these tips come from a pre-cellphone era...
Will move this to the ANDROID forum (hint, hint 8) )

Re: mac address

Posted: Wed Jun 27, 2018 2:56 pm
by DPaul
To expand further, I want to have my program loaded and locked to a specific samsung tablet. I am thinking just have it check the mac address. If someone knows an easier way to accomplish this please speak up.

Re: mac address

Posted: Wed Jun 27, 2018 3:57 pm
by jacque
I don't know of any way to get the MAC address, you might need a custom external. The closest thing is mobileBuildInfo("SERIAL") but about half the devices I've tested don't have (or don't return) a serial number. If the app is just for your own use and it does provide a serial number then that would probably work, but it isn't suitable for general use..

Re: mac address

Posted: Wed Jun 27, 2018 4:07 pm
by jacque

Re: mac address

Posted: Wed Jun 27, 2018 4:16 pm
by FourthWorld
MAC addresses can be spoofed, and possibly changed if a device repair includes NIC replacement.

You might just as well generate a UUID on first launch and use that.

What problem are you solving?

Re: mac address

Posted: Wed Jun 27, 2018 4:51 pm
by DPaul
All I want to do is protect the software from copy transfer. I will load it on a tablet and sell them as a combo. What would be the safest way to do this?

Re: mac address

Posted: Wed Jun 27, 2018 4:57 pm
by DPaul
BTW, how would I check for first load?

Re: mac address

Posted: Wed Jun 27, 2018 5:02 pm
by FourthWorld
First-run can be distinguished by the absence of the file into which you'll write the UUID.

Re: mac address

Posted: Wed Jun 27, 2018 5:09 pm
by FourthWorld
If there is value in the combo the user should recognize that.

If the user sees no benefit in the combo and prefers to run your software on hardware of their own choosing, maybe you needn't multiply your overhead by saddling yourself with the constraints of physical product. Software has such high ROI because it carries no replication cost.

That said, I know nothing of the specifics of your system or its value proposition. Just semi-random food for thought....

Re: mac address

Posted: Wed Jun 27, 2018 5:12 pm
by DPaul
What would keep them from just moving the generated file with the program? Also, is there a livecode UUID generator?

Re: mac address

Posted: Wed Jun 27, 2018 5:38 pm
by DPaul
Thank you so much for taking your time to offer your advice. I made this software for my benefit as a very productive technical tool. Now others want it. It is not a huge market. I just want to be able to keep them from passing free copies around. The tool works great on the samsung tablet. I guess I could just put a hidden file on it for each program to find and id off of. At least you have talked me out of the mac address idea.

Re: mac address

Posted: Wed Jun 27, 2018 6:01 pm
by FourthWorld
DPaul wrote:
Wed Jun 27, 2018 5:12 pm
What would keep them from just moving the generated file with the program? Also, is there a livecode UUID generator?
Yes, LC has a UUID function.

But you're right, a self-generated identifier would not solve the problem you're working on.

For privacy reasons mobile OS vendors are moving away from easy access to hardware identifiers, so while there may be options I don't know what they are and they may require using non-public APIs.

Would it be practical to require registration within the app? That would allow it to be freely copied anywhere, but would only run when authenticated against a server you manage.