browse widget different behavior in Android

The place to discuss anything and everything about running your LiveCode on Android

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

Post Reply
terryho
Posts: 126
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 2:53 pm

browse widget different behavior in Android

Post by terryho » Fri Jun 08, 2018 3:55 pm

Hi

I face a different behavior on android device on browse widget. Please try my attach zip file, Which use the stack to run in ios simulator, it will show a web page (for local file) and click some link, which the file has in the local folder, it will show the web page, but in Android device, it will not show other link.

I don't know whether it is a bug in Android or not. Please help me to confirm it.

Regards

Terry Ho
Attachments
test.zip
(10.17 KiB) Downloaded 198 times

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 7210
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: browse widget different behavior in Android

Post by jacque » Sat Jun 09, 2018 5:52 pm

The iOS simulator reads files from the hard drive just as the Finder does. If you are using a hard coded or relative file path it will probably fail on a real iPhone too.

I didn't think browsers could access the local file system, but if they do, then on mobile you need to use specialFolderPath() instead of a specific URL. (I don't download files from here usually, it's easier if the post contains scripts I can read here. So I haven't examined the stack.)
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

terryho
Posts: 126
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: browse widget different behavior in Android

Post by terryho » Tue Jun 12, 2018 5:42 pm

Hi Jacque,

Yes, You are right. I'm oversight that It is different in real device and simulator.

Regards

Terry Ho

terryho
Posts: 126
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: browse widget different behavior in Android

Post by terryho » Wed Jun 13, 2018 4:52 pm

Hi

After further test, I think it is the bug in android device. Which I put the the following code in the browser widget,

On browsernavigatebegin purl
Answer purl
End browsernavigatebegin

Then the answer message will display in ios device and will not display in Android device, when click on the link.

I will file this bug.

Regards

Terry Ho

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 7210
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: browse widget different behavior in Android

Post by jacque » Wed Jun 13, 2018 6:25 pm

Does browserStartedLoading work?

EDIT: Never mind, I see you're using a widget. Try browserDocumentLoadBegin and see if that works.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

terryho
Posts: 126
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: browse widget different behavior in Android

Post by terryho » Thu Jun 14, 2018 3:05 pm

Hi Jacque,

Confirm it is a bug.

https://quality.livecode.com/show_bug.cgi?id=21358

Thanks your help. Which point me to the right direction.

Regards

Terry Ho

Post Reply

Return to “Android Deployment”