Problem with text displaying

The place to discuss anything and everything about running your LiveCode on Android

Moderators: heatherlaine, Klaus, FourthWorld, robinmiller, kevinmiller

Post Reply
jcc75
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2017 10:54 pm

Problem with text displaying

Post by jcc75 » Sun Dec 24, 2017 10:46 am

Hello.
Thanks to you I can read a text file. But now here is another problem :(
Capture.png
Capture.png (8.14 KiB) Viewed 654 times
The text of the label is set in the properties. The text of the field is read from a file. The font is the same in both ("system").
I can display the file in any other app without problem (Windows or Android).
I think that LiveCode doesn't like me :( :( :(
Thanks for help.

jmburnod
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2243
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 5:35 pm
Location: Genève
Contact:

Re: Problem with text displaying

Post by jmburnod » Sun Dec 24, 2017 11:23 am

Hi,
Glad to know you can open and read a file.
It seems your need to decode your file.
I never did something for androïd but I met similar problems on iOS and for exchanges between OS X and Windows.
Fortunately, LiveCode forum help us.
Best regards
Jean-Marc

jcc75
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2017 10:54 pm

Re: Problem with text displaying

Post by jcc75 » Sun Dec 24, 2017 12:20 pm

Strange. I display my file in a data grid, and it's ok ! I don't understand why.
I didn't change anything else.
Capture.png
Capture.png (15.72 KiB) Viewed 643 times

bogs
Posts: 2279
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: Problem with text displaying

Post by bogs » Sun Dec 24, 2017 1:27 pm

It looks to me like the 'file' is in csv format? "System" I believe uses the fonts that your system is set to display for various objects (differences vary from os to os). Whether you are using Windows, Mac, or Linux, title-bars, labels, buttons, and text fields in particular display slightly differently depending on the 'theme' the os is using, unless you have changed your system settings. The data grid top line is more likely to be displaying the same as a text field I believe, not a label.
Image

MaxV
Posts: 1540
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 2:20 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Problem with text displaying

Post by MaxV » Mon Dec 25, 2017 4:02 am

The problem is how you load the text in the field. See http://livecode.wikia.com/wiki/TextDecode
Livecode Wiki: http://livecode.wikia.com
My blog: http://livecodeitalia.blogspot.it
To post code use this: http://tinyurl.com/ogp6d5w

Post Reply

Return to “Android Deployment”