black screen with LC9, ok with LC8.1.9

The place to discuss anything and everything about running your LiveCode on Android

Moderators: heatherlaine, Klaus, FourthWorld, robinmiller, kevinmiller

Post Reply
bangkok
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 782
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 7:15 am

black screen with LC9, ok with LC8.1.9

Post by bangkok » Mon Apr 16, 2018 11:41 am

-windows 8.1

-java jdk 1.8.0_66

-a new stack with 1 field and 1 button (quit), and white background

-android device with 5.1

-android sdk manager (see screen shot)

->apk created with LC9 = black screen

->apk created with LC8.1.9 = okay, app opens fine

any idea ?
Attachments
and.png

sphere
Posts: 586
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2014 10:32 am
Location: the Netherlands

Re: black screen with LC9, ok with LC8.1.9

Post by sphere » Mon Apr 16, 2018 12:10 pm

No, Sorry.
LC9 and APK on Android 6.0 (but minimum adroid 4.1) Works OK with me.

There was a similair bug with Android 7, don't know if this was solved yet.
But there is a work around by Panos for that on LC's Bug site.

Most probably you have the accelerated in your "on preOpenStack" handler?
Sony HitBit HB75P MSX-1, Amiga 500 v1.3, Amiga 600, Amiga 1200, Pentium 1 and onwards to all loose PC crap boards which already was in the Amiga for ages not mentioning the startup speed, which we now have again with SSD :D

bangkok
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 782
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 7:15 am

Re: black screen with LC9, ok with LC8.1.9

Post by bangkok » Mon Apr 16, 2018 12:14 pm

sphere wrote:
Mon Apr 16, 2018 12:10 pm
Most probably you have the accelerated in your "on preOpenStack" handler?
No handler at all. It's really a bare stack : 1 field, 1 button.

LiveCode_Panos
Posts: 361
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 4:03 pm

Re: black screen with LC9, ok with LC8.1.9

Post by LiveCode_Panos » Mon Apr 16, 2018 3:02 pm

Hi all,

Works fine for me here.

@ bangkok
Could you attach the stack here? Moreover, what is the device you are using? Do you have access to a different device?

Best,
Panos
--

bangkok
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 782
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 7:15 am

Re: black screen with LC9, ok with LC8.1.9

Post by bangkok » Mon Apr 16, 2018 7:51 pm

LiveCode_Panos wrote:
Mon Apr 16, 2018 3:02 pm
Could you attach the stack here? Moreover, what is the device you are using? Do you have access to a different device?
Here is the stack.

I use an android 5.1 terminal with a built-in barcode scanner.

Never had "black screen" problem.

The app is fine when compiled with LC 8.1.9 : same stack, same device.

Moreover, i've just tried on another PC : windows 10, jdk 1.8.0_101 (different version)... same results.
Attachments
paf2.zip
(1.28 KiB) Downloaded 2 times

LiveCode_Panos
Posts: 361
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 4:03 pm

Re: black screen with LC9, ok with LC8.1.9

Post by LiveCode_Panos » Tue Apr 17, 2018 8:49 am

Hi bangkok,

Thank you for the stack. I have tested on two Android devices (one running Android 8 and one running Android 5) and I cannot reproduce the problem.

What happens if you set the minimum Android version to 2.3.3 (in the Android Standalone Settings)?

Best,
Panos
--

bangkok
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 782
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 7:15 am

Re: black screen with LC9, ok with LC8.1.9

Post by bangkok » Tue Apr 17, 2018 9:32 am

LiveCode_Panos wrote:
Tue Apr 17, 2018 8:49 am
What happens if you set the minimum Android version to 2.3.3 (in the Android Standalone Settings)?
No change. Black screen when compiled with LC 9

I did another test : on a samsung phone with android 5.1.1.

It works fine with LC 8.1.9 and LC 9

This is so frustrating....

Why I get such a different behavior on the first device ?

A part from widgets, what are the big changes for android between LC version 8.1.9 and version LC 9 ?

Or do you think it might be a parameter to set on the android device , something special although small that could lead to 8.1.9 compilation success and LC 9 failure ?

LiveCode_Panos
Posts: 361
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 4:03 pm

Re: black screen with LC9, ok with LC8.1.9

Post by LiveCode_Panos » Tue Apr 17, 2018 1:26 pm

Hi bangkok,

Thank you for the update. OK, so it seems that there is something specific to this device that LC 9 does not like.

We have done a lot of changes between LC 8 and 9, one of them is that we use a different version of the android toolchain to build the android engines.

What are the specs of the device that does not work with LC 9 (model, arch etc)?

Best,
Panos
--

bangkok
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 782
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 7:15 am

Re: black screen with LC9, ok with LC8.1.9

Post by bangkok » Wed Apr 18, 2018 8:57 am

LiveCode_Panos wrote:
Tue Apr 17, 2018 1:26 pm
What are the specs of the device that does not work with LC 9 (model, arch etc)?
Hello Panos,

It's a OCBS-D8000 (from Shenzhen OCOM Technologies Limited)

You'll find all the specs on this page (alibaba's page with technical presentation of the device) :

https://tinyurl.com/ycflc7xx

(PS the device is brand news, received it just a few days ago. No weird apps added, no update done, just the battery charged and the LC app installed for testing,that's all)

Post Reply

Return to “Android Deployment”