scaleFactor: proving a point

Want to talk about something that isn't covered by another category?

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer

scaleFactor: proving a point

Post by richmond62 » Sun Jun 18, 2023 10:58 am

So, here I am, obviously a complete newbie at LiveCode after 22 years of working with it, as I learnt about scaleFactor yesterday.

Or maybe, just maybe, it proves something about several things:

1. The in-built documentation, while being reasonably good insofar as it documents a lot is pretty well useless for looking up ideas and concepts
unless one already knows the terms.

our easy to understand programming language
While being, reasonably easy to understand, is not really quite as accessible as certain parties would have us think.

A search inwith the description of terms in the Documentation or somesuch would be a great improvement.

Deciding, 4 weeks ago, to find a way to make stacks look BIGGER on screen for a partially blind child was useless because
I, in my naivety, thought of the word 'magnify' which led me to something that is, as I have mentioned in another post,
NBG:
-
Mainly because this is untrue:

"Shows or hides a window showing a magnified view of an image."

What it does do is show a square palette containing a small bit of an image.

And that is not magnifying the whole stack, which scaleFactor does.

But how was simple-minded Richmond going to hit on 'that one'?

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer

Re: scaleFactor: proving a point

Post by jacque » Sun Jun 18, 2023 5:39 pm

That's a universal problem with any dictionary for any language, including spoken languages. You have to know the word before you can find it. LC tries to help by putting a list of applicable terms in the handler sidebar in the script editor, and the "related" section in a dictionary entry is often helpful. But even those don't always help much.