Using Search Box Forum with a "linux server" exact phrasing-

Want to talk about something that isn't covered by another category?

Moderators: heatherlaine, Klaus, FourthWorld, robinmiller, kevinmiller

Post Reply
teriibi
Posts: 254
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2017 3:49 pm
Location: Bolivia

Using Search Box Forum with a "linux server" exact phrasing-

Post by teriibi » Fri Feb 23, 2018 4:14 pm

HI,

Im trying to figure out how I could possibly have returned results for a specific forum search such as:
"linux server"
...Ive tried linux+server though in both case the "linux" and the "server" words are found but in different layouts.
not as : word1+space+word2
Is that kind of search possible in the forum, or thats a soft limitation here ?
thx

FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 6105
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Using Search Box Forum with a "linux server" exact phrasing-

Post by FourthWorld » Fri Feb 23, 2018 5:40 pm

This forum uses the default PHPBB settings for search. Not sure why the results are so weak.

That said, I do a lot of work with LiveCode on Linux, both desktop and server. Is there something I may be able to help with?
Richard Gaskin
Community volunteer LiveCode Community Liaison

LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems: http://FourthWorld.com
LiveCode User Group on Facebook : http://FaceBook.com/groups/LiveCodeUsers/

bogs
Posts: 2073
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: Using Search Box Forum with a "linux server" exact phrasing-

Post by bogs » Fri Feb 23, 2018 8:17 pm

I don't find the results you see very surprising, almost all boards running this software have the same kind of bad returns on searches. However, you don't have to deal with that if you don't mind using a search engine (Google, duckduckgo, whatever floats your boat), you can search the forum using almost any of the known ones.

The format varies from search engine to search enging, but generally looks like this -

Code: Select all

"linux server" site:forums.livecode.com
The 'site:forums.livecode.com' is the main part of it, it directs the engine to search only this site. Where you put that part of the search in the search box is what varies, some put it in front of the query, some in back, but finding the correct format is as easy as...well...a search :D

Alternately, if you *really* want to use the bulletin board search facility, you can go to the 'advanced search' and more clearly define the search you want to launch, and it will work better than the default.
Image

teriibi
Posts: 254
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2017 3:49 pm
Location: Bolivia

Re: Using Search Box Forum with a "linux server" exact phrasing-

Post by teriibi » Fri Feb 23, 2018 10:17 pm

thanks to both,
actualy after using this searchbox I finallly decided to ask about it here why results seemed not very acurate:
Those are mine with linux server.

I would expect to have return = "none" for a strict search...
Image

right, I was already using the Google with : "livecode forum word to search" expression
...good to know there is an even better way to search.

Actually i was going to check for the use of :
$tzone = strftime("%z");

which return a different content whereas you run it on a windows or on a Linux server... no big deal, just curious to check that result on both systems... :wink:
Attachments
linux server.png

FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 6105
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Using Search Box Forum with a "linux server" exact phrasing-

Post by FourthWorld » Fri Feb 23, 2018 10:59 pm

teriibi wrote:
Fri Feb 23, 2018 10:17 pm
Actually i was going to check for the use of :
$tzone = strftime("%z");

which return a different content whereas you run it on a windows or on a Linux server... no big deal, just curious to check that result on both systems... :wink:
strftime is a Linux command, not LiveCode.

Does PowerShell support it?

If you're using the new Ubuntu shell on Windows it should return the same result as in any Ubuntu install. If not it may be a bug in Microsoft's WSL.
Richard Gaskin
Community volunteer LiveCode Community Liaison

LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems: http://FourthWorld.com
LiveCode User Group on Facebook : http://FaceBook.com/groups/LiveCodeUsers/

teriibi
Posts: 254
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2017 3:49 pm
Location: Bolivia

Re: Using Search Box Forum with a "linux server" exact phrasing-

Post by teriibi » Sat Feb 24, 2018 3:33 am

As i have no Window server at hand...i can only can test it on a Linux server, though I read that the command would also return a valid result on a Window server...dont know what Windoz version or server config though. :P never used PShell-

Post Reply

Return to “Off-Topic”