Permissions error on save with Studio 2.8.1

Want to talk about something that isn't covered by another category?

Moderators: heatherlaine, Klaus, FourthWorld, robinmiller, kevinmiller

trailboss
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 4:55 pm

Permissions error on save with Studio 2.8.1

Post by trailboss » Thu Jan 04, 2018 7:56 pm

I'm using Studio 2.8.1 and foolishly upgraded to High Sierra on my Macintosh. All works well, but I can't save my stacks because I get a permissions error: "Can't save stack...due to an error: can't open stack backup file Check the file path, and make sure you have sufficient permissions." I was hoping against hope that someone might know how to get around this.

I would like to use my lifetime LiveCode app but I get so many error messages that my favorite work is not usable. Do I have to start again from scratch?

FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5960
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Permissions error on save with Studio 2.8.1

Post by FourthWorld » Thu Jan 04, 2018 8:04 pm

A lot of people use LC daily on macOS, so I'm sure we can help you past this hurdle.

Permissions errors in any app are usually a result of attempting to write to a file in a protected location. What is the full path where you're trying to save the stack file?
Richard Gaskin
Community volunteer LiveCode Community Liaison

LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems: http://FourthWorld.com
LiveCode User Group on Facebook : http://FaceBook.com/groups/LiveCodeUsers/

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2496
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Permissions error on save with Studio 2.8.1

Post by richmond62 » Thu Jan 04, 2018 8:10 pm

It is bizarre that this chap, with a "lifetime" licence is still stuck with 2.8.1
while I, with a 2 year Indy licence, can use whatever the latest thing is as it
becomes available.

And the people at LiveCode wonder why some people are a bit ^$%&)#@ about
their shifting licence policy . . .

FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5960
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Permissions error on save with Studio 2.8.1

Post by FourthWorld » Thu Jan 04, 2018 8:36 pm

richmond62 wrote:
Thu Jan 04, 2018 8:10 pm
And the people at LiveCode wonder why some people are a bit ^$%&)#@ about
their shifting licence policy . . .
There's the rub: no matter what they do, someone always suggests they shift it again. :)
Richard Gaskin
Community volunteer LiveCode Community Liaison

LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems: http://FourthWorld.com
LiveCode User Group on Facebook : http://FaceBook.com/groups/LiveCodeUsers/

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2496
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Permissions error on save with Studio 2.8.1

Post by richmond62 » Thu Jan 04, 2018 9:11 pm

Well, shifting licences or not, a "lifetime" licence of RR 2.8.1 won't do anyone much good
as the hardware and the operating systems that standalones generated by 2.8.1 can run one will be
dumped, gone and history well before . . .

I cannot get RR 2.8.1 to work on Mac OS 10.7.5, so I wonder what this chap is running his copy on?

bogs
Posts: 1804
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: Permissions error on save with Studio 2.8.1

Post by bogs » Thu Jan 04, 2018 9:25 pm

I can't imagine, I got Mc starter kit running on all kinds of stuff from windows to solaris, but I couldn't get it to do anything on Osx (Os 9 completely different story, runs like a champ there!). It really strikes me odd too, since (from my understanding) Osx is a bsd variant, and I have Mc running on a bsd platform as well. Go figure.
Image

trailboss
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 4:55 pm

Re: Permissions error on save with Studio 2.8.1

Post by trailboss » Thu Jan 04, 2018 9:34 pm

FourthWorld wrote:
Thu Jan 04, 2018 8:04 pm
A lot of people use LC daily on macOS, so I'm sure we can help you past this hurdle.

Permissions errors in any app are usually a result of attempting to write to a file in a protected location. What is the full path where you're trying to save the stack file?
It doesn't seem to matter where it is; I just created a new stack on the desktop. The Save As works. If I add a button and Save I get the error message. I can create a stack but do nothing with it.

Here's a sloppy work-around: Save As every time with a new name. Using the old name doesn't work.

trailboss
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 4:55 pm

Re: Permissions error on save with Studio 2.8.1

Post by trailboss » Thu Jan 04, 2018 9:39 pm

richmond62 wrote:
Thu Jan 04, 2018 9:11 pm
Well, shifting licences or not, a "lifetime" licence of RR 2.8.1 won't do anyone much good
as the hardware and the operating systems that standalones generated by 2.8.1 can run one will be
dumped, gone and history well before . . .

I cannot get RR 2.8.1 to work on Mac OS 10.7.5, so I wonder what this chap is running his copy on?
Oh, no. One work-around idea that I had was to make a standalone to run with the new livecode app. I don't have a lifetime license with 2.81; not sure if there ever was one. I bought the livecode app license a while back but importing this gigantic stack to the new app resulted in a lot of error messages and endless endless clean-up just to get it to run.

Perhaps there is a technique to simplify moving a stack from Studio to Livecode without so many glitches.

trailboss
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 4:55 pm

Re: Permissions error on save with Studio 2.8.1

Post by trailboss » Thu Jan 04, 2018 9:42 pm

richmond62 wrote:
Thu Jan 04, 2018 9:11 pm
Well, shifting licences or not, a "lifetime" licence of RR 2.8.1 won't do anyone much good
as the hardware and the operating systems that standalones generated by 2.8.1 can run one will be
dumped, gone and history well before . . .

I cannot get RR 2.8.1 to work on Mac OS 10.7.5, so I wonder what this chap is running his copy on?
I have run Studio 2.8.1 (build 470) on all the versions of OSX that I've had with no problems until now.

trailboss
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 4:55 pm

Re: Permissions error on save with Studio 2.8.1

Post by trailboss » Thu Jan 04, 2018 9:48 pm

bogs wrote:
Thu Jan 04, 2018 9:25 pm
I can't imagine, I got Mc starter kit running on all kinds of stuff from windows to solaris, but I couldn't get it to do anything on Osx (Os 9 completely different story, runs like a champ there!). It really strikes me odd too, since (from my understanding) Osx is a bsd variant, and I have Mc running on a bsd platform as well. Go figure.
I thought I was the only one who had system 9 on a machine today. :) No problems with El Capitan and before.

bogs
Posts: 1804
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: Permissions error on save with Studio 2.8.1

Post by bogs » Thu Jan 04, 2018 9:57 pm

Well, while I do have a machine that is older than that (mac plus, circa '87, '88?), I finally stopped pulling that one out and started running os9 in a sheephaver vm, as seen in this thread.

It runs better than the original, and far better than the internet archive version, but not as good as native. Just good enough.
Image

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2496
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Permissions error on save with Studio 2.8.1

Post by richmond62 » Thu Jan 04, 2018 10:21 pm

I run Mac OS 9 as "Classic" both on a G4 macMini and on a G5 iMac.

If you want to "port" a stack authored on RunRev 2.8.1 to something a bit
more up-to-date (say LC 8.1.8), then I would suppose one of the ways is
to move it "up" by easy stages via 3.0, 4.0, 4.5 and so on and tidy up
glitches as they occur rather than have to cope with buckets of them all at once.

Perhaps I should qualify not being able to get 2.8.1 running on Mac OS X: I can
run it on my G5, but on my 2006 INTEL iMac I get a "PPC" notice:
PeePeeSee.png
PeePeeSee.png (61.36 KiB) Viewed 1148 times

bogs
Posts: 1804
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: Permissions error on save with Studio 2.8.1

Post by bogs » Thu Jan 04, 2018 10:28 pm

< REALLY admires Richmond's ability to name pictures > :mrgreen:
Image

trailboss
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 4:55 pm

Re: Permissions error on save with Studio 2.8.1

Post by trailboss » Thu Jan 04, 2018 10:36 pm

richmond62 wrote:
Thu Jan 04, 2018 10:21 pm
I run Mac OS 9 as "Classic" both on a G4 macMini and on a G5 iMac.

If you want to "port" a stack authored on RunRev 2.8.1 to something a bit
more up-to-date (say LC 8.1.8), then I would suppose one of the ways is
to move it "up" by easy stages via 3.0, 4.0, 4.5 and so on and tidy up
glitches as they occur rather than have to cope with buckets of them all at once.

Perhaps I should qualify not being able to get 2.8.1 running on Mac OS X: I can
run it on my G5, but on my 2006 INTEL iMac I get a "PPC" notice:

PeePeeSee.png
Well, that's sounds like a great idea. I could do it on my other machine. Are you referring to earlier versions of LC or later versions of RunRev? Where can I get these versions? Would I really have to do it by stages?

trailboss
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 4:55 pm

Re: Permissions error on save with Studio 2.8.1

Post by trailboss » Thu Jan 04, 2018 10:38 pm

trailboss wrote:
Thu Jan 04, 2018 10:36 pm
richmond62 wrote:
Thu Jan 04, 2018 10:21 pm
I run Mac OS 9 as "Classic" both on a G4 macMini and on a G5 iMac.

If you want to "port" a stack authored on RunRev 2.8.1 to something a bit
more up-to-date (say LC 8.1.8), then I would suppose one of the ways is
to move it "up" by easy stages via 3.0, 4.0, 4.5 and so on and tidy up
glitches as they occur rather than have to cope with buckets of them all at once.

Perhaps I should qualify not being able to get 2.8.1 running on Mac OS X: I can
run it on my G5, but on my 2006 INTEL iMac I get a "PPC" notice:

PeePeeSee.png
Well, that sounds like a great idea. I could do it on my other machine. Are you referring to earlier versions of LC or later versions of RunRev? Where can I get these versions? Would I really have to do it by stages?

Post Reply

Return to “Off-Topic”