Android mobile low internal storage

Want to talk about something that isn't covered by another category?

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

morrell

Android mobile low internal storage

Post by morrell » Mon Jan 19, 2015 5:23 pm

I have been posting LC questions in the Complete Beginners forum and have had tremendous help since starting to learn LC in early December and hopefully I can obtain the same help here.

I had my very first mobile with a screen a couple of weeks before installing LC and so I'm no whiz OAP on it, plus the little book that came with it covers nothing about internal storage. Now I'm designing the look of my app it's file size is starting to grow which is now 16.9MG (is that large as apps go) and I'm getting a message saying my internal storage is running low with 158MB used and 7.0MB free.
I have no images in my gallery and no saved texts and in fact I'm not using the phone other than for testing my app as I only have 9 pence on the sim card.

Could someone explain how and what can be removed from the 158MB used as the only thing I can see which can be removed is my own app?
Motorola Defy Mini - Android 2.3

Kind regards,

Ruth

Simon
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer

Re: Android mobile low internal storage

Post by Simon » Mon Jan 19, 2015 9:23 pm

Hi Ruth,
On the Android device go
Settings > Applications > Manage application
The first screen shows all downloaded apps these can be deleted or have their caches cleared.
Click on the Menu button down at the bottom and sort by size. There was a big update to Google Play (Market?) that can be deleted (when you go to the Play store it gets updates it again).
Whatsapp jumped to 20 mb so I had to delete that.
Goggle Maps also had a large update that can be removed.

Click on All up at the top.
The largest app that I cannot remove is Internet at 4.08 mb
There was some sort of Mail cache that was at the top of my list, I removed it.