Will LiveCode make all other programming languages obsolete?

Want to talk about something that isn't covered by another category?

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

rushedone

Will LiveCode make all other programming languages obsolete?

Post by rushedone » Fri Apr 26, 2013 4:53 am

I'm a total noob so excuse the stupid question

Simon
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer

Re: Will LiveCode make all other programming languages obsol

Post by Simon » Fri Apr 26, 2013 5:24 am

Welcome to the forum... We like questions here!

Mark Schonewille has written a new book for beginners, you can download a sample here:
http://qery.us/3fr

On page 11 there is a great graph that displays a "no-go" area for LC. Take a little time to understand what that graph means. After years of coding in LC I finally understand LC's place in the software world. (It's a pretty big place).

To answer your question, not very likely.

Simon
I used to be a newbie but then I learned how to spell teh correctly and now I'm a noob!

rushedone

Post by rushedone » Sat Apr 27, 2013 2:57 am

So that "Open Language" project that runrev is doing is not really designed to make LiveCode the end all be all of programming languages? (theoretically speaking at least)

That seemed like the most amazing and interesting part of the LiveCode kickstarter campaign when I first read it :(

Simon

Post by Simon » Sat Apr 27, 2013 3:09 am

Well if we are speaking theoretically... Then Yes.
But I don't speak theoretical :D

Simon
I used to be a newbie but then I learned how to spell teh correctly and now I'm a noob!

archer2009BUSknbj

Post by archer2009BUSknbj » Sat Apr 27, 2013 7:27 am

Based on the sample the book looks like it will be good, although the sample pages cut off just at the point where things get a bit harder, so you can't quite judge.
Most of the stuff I'm interested in happens around chapter 5.