Building for retina (again..!)

Getting into LiveCode for iOS? Ask your questions here.

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

Post Reply
doobox
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 284
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 11:47 pm

Building for retina (again..!)

Post by doobox » Thu Jun 30, 2011 4:59 pm

Sorry guys if this is old.

But i am finding what appears to be conflicting info around regarding what screen size to design at, when aiming to support, both 3g and iphone 4.

I believe the latest release of live code took care of some of the issues i see in older posts, so this may be my source of confusion.

If i build at 320x480 and use hi res images (what res recomended 2x ..?) ie 144dpi.
Will this be a sure fire way of getting good results on both displays..?

Another source of my confusion is.. with a basic test building a 640x960 stack with a graphic rectangle all but covering the content area.
When viewed in the iPhone retina simulator with out doing anything else to the stack, i only see a quarter of the graphic.
Is this due to the way live code is handling the retina display now..?
Kind Regards
Gary

https://www.doobox.co.uk

doobox
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 284
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 11:47 pm

Re: Building for retina (again..!)

Post by doobox » Fri Jul 01, 2011 11:54 am

Stop me if i am taking rubbish.
But the best i can work out is as follows:

If i design on a stack sized at 320x460 (with status bar)
And i make no account for screen resizing.
This will look perfect on the 3g and slightly blur'd on the iphone 4.
As the iphone 4 will stretch each pixel by 2x.

We can not add @2x images to the project for the ios engine to pick up, other than splash and icon...???

Now if the magnifier in iphone 4 is used this doubles that portion of screen area, so you see the effect of the stretched pixels more clearly..?

If i design a stack at 640x920.
I can not use that in either 3g or iPhone 4 without scripting some resizing...???
If the above is correct...does the dpi of the image then matter..?
Kind Regards
Gary

https://www.doobox.co.uk

cenglish
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 6:44 pm
Location: LA, USA

Re: Building for retina (again..!)

Post by cenglish » Fri Oct 28, 2011 10:25 pm

Bump. Please let me know if you have figured anything more about this. I am running into the same issue. I'm wanting one app that runs on either the 3GS or iPhone 4/4S but can't find anything on how to build or account for this without going through some long complicated scripting. I am working on LC 5.0 and the latest xcode and everytime I try to run my retina display app, it only shows a quarter of the app in the iphone simulator. I'm also using MobGuI as well. Thanks

Kaubs
Posts: 124
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 3:55 am

Re: Building for retina (again..!)

Post by Kaubs » Fri Oct 28, 2011 11:01 pm

What resolution did you build the stack at?

If you built it for retina then this on the first card of your stack

Code: Select all

on PreOpenStack
 iphoneUseDeviceResolution "true"
end PreOpenStack

This is what I have been doing in my projects to support iPhone 3 and 4

-Create a mainstack that identifies what the device is
-Based off of device send user to a substack built at the resolution the device supports


The easiest way to do this IMO is to build a substack ready for 3 and then replicate it, swap out the images for higher res images and change any code that might ref pixel areas to the correct areas. Don't get me wrong, its a good bit of work but the replication process is a lot faster than initial build or creating two separate projects. Ive used this method 3 times now and it has worked just fine every time.

Mag
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 802
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 10:51 pm

Re: Building for retina (again..!)

Post by Mag » Thu Nov 22, 2012 6:28 pm

I also was in the situation described in the post below and your suggestion worked well. Thank you Kaubs for this interesting and very useful tip!

Post Reply

Return to “iOS Deployment”