Bold font doesn't work?

Getting into LiveCode for iOS? Ask your questions here.

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

Post Reply
richardmac
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 211
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2010 12:13 am

Bold font doesn't work?

Post by richardmac » Sun Jan 09, 2011 5:46 am

I set my field to Arial Bold, but when I run the iPad simulator, it shows up plain, not bold. Even if I click the B button (for bold,) the simulator does not respect it. Known issue?

RRobert
Posts: 151
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:20 pm

Re: Bold font doesn't work?

Post by RRobert » Sun Jan 09, 2011 3:07 pm

richardmac wrote:I set my field to Arial Bold, but when I run the iPad simulator, it shows up plain, not bold. Even if I click the B button (for bold,) the simulator does not respect it. Known issue?
I could confirm the issue, you should create a report in the Quality Control Center.

Code: Select all

on mouseUp
    put empty into fld "Field"
    set the textfont of fld "Field" to empty
    set the textStyle of fld "Field" to "plain"
    
    put the fontNames into fld "Field"
    
    wait 2 seconds with messages
    
    set the textFont of fld "Field" to "Arial"
    set the textStyle of fld "Field" to "bold"
end mouseUp
Robert

ctflatt
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 243
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 12:24 am
Location: Fredericktown, MO
Contact:

Re: Bold font doesn't work?

Post by ctflatt » Sun Jan 09, 2011 3:48 pm

Arial isn't a supported iOS system font, so what you are seeing is the default to Helvetica...

Check out my initial thread on this here:

http://forums.runrev.com/phpBB2/viewtop ... =49&t=6036

:Todd

RRobert
Posts: 151
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:20 pm

Re: Bold font doesn't work?

Post by RRobert » Sun Jan 09, 2011 4:13 pm

Mystery solved. :wink:

Robert

richardmac
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 211
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2010 12:13 am

Re: Bold font doesn't work?

Post by richardmac » Sun Jan 09, 2011 8:50 pm

Good deal - Helvetica Bold does work.

I had originally tried to use Helvetica Neue Bold, which does not work. Didn't try regular Helvetica, in bold, but it works and is close enough to pass, I think.

ctflatt
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 243
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 12:24 am
Location: Fredericktown, MO
Contact:

Re: Bold font doesn't work?

Post by ctflatt » Tue Jan 11, 2011 1:44 am

richardmac:

In the list of fonts from that referenced thread, apparently Arial MT is supported, as is Arial MT Bold... haven't tried this one, but you might give it a shot if you want...

Let us know.

:Todd

Post Reply

Return to “iOS Deployment”