My app is smaller with Livecode 9.6 !

Getting into LiveCode for iOS? Ask your questions here.

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

Post Reply
ludo
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 72
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 6:10 pm

My app is smaller with Livecode 9.6 !

Post by ludo » Sat Jun 06, 2020 1:52 pm

Hello,

Since I've installer LV 9.6 final, when I compile my app on the simulator or on a real device, it is smaller than usual.

Here an exemple, with a new stack, at same pixel size, which represent the real size (320x568) and at right the size my app on the ios screen (a border represent the real size).
The first value is the screenrect, the second the rect of the stack and the third the rect of the cd.

Why the screenrect is different with my app ?!

I checked if some graphics, buttons, groups,... was outside the app rect, but nothing is outside.

Any ideas ? Thanks !

Note the script for the two stack is only :

Code: Select all

on preopenstack
  set the fullscreenmode of this stack to "showAll" //(edited)
end preopenstack
real size.png
New size.png
Last edited by ludo on Sat Jun 06, 2020 4:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

bangkok
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 937
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 7:15 am

Re: My app is smaller with Livecode 9.6 !

Post by bangkok » Sat Jun 06, 2020 3:04 pm

Code: Select all

on preopenstack
  set the fullscreenmode of this stack to "show all"
end preopenstack

It should be

Code: Select all

on preopenstack
  set the fullscreenmode of this stack to "showAll"
end preopenstack
no space.

ludo
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 72
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 6:10 pm

Re: My app is smaller with Livecode 9.6 !

Post by ludo » Sat Jun 06, 2020 4:40 pm

Thanks,
but it's already the case in the script of the stacks. (it's just a typo here).

To be clear : in my "old" app, I've put an "exit to top" just after the "set the fullscreenmode".

I don't understand why the screenrect is not the good one...

SparkOut
Posts: 2852
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2007 4:58 pm

Re: My app is smaller with Livecode 9.6 !

Post by SparkOut » Sat Jun 06, 2020 5:02 pm

A similar question was raised recently, and while I have no idea or way of testing, it was solved for the other user here:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=34189&p=192602#p192602 (to do with custom plist)

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 7229
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: My app is smaller with Livecode 9.6 !

Post by jacque » Sat Jun 06, 2020 5:33 pm

Every device has a different screenrect. Fullscreenmode fits your stack into the available space. If the ratio of the screen is not the same as the ratio of the card, you get a smaller stack (to make it fit) and blank areas around the edges when you use showAll or noBorder.

You could use other fullscreenmodes. Some of those will use the whole area of the screen but will distort the stack by stretching it or cropping it.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

ludo
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 72
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 6:10 pm

Re: My app is smaller with Livecode 9.6 !

Post by ludo » Sat Jun 06, 2020 5:41 pm

It was with the same device.
I compile my app for "years" for my iPhone SE and with LC 9.6 the screenrect change (not on android) !
But if I compile a new stack (same size and settings than my app) it's ok.

Maybe a bug related to "old" stacks.

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 7229
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: My app is smaller with Livecode 9.6 !

Post by jacque » Sat Jun 06, 2020 6:20 pm

That's very strange, I have no explanation.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

ludo
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 72
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 6:10 pm

Re: My app is smaller with Livecode 9.6 !

Post by ludo » Sat Jun 06, 2020 6:49 pm

I found why.
I use an info.plist to personalize some settings in the standalone (like French localizations for the "Usagedescriptions" and to add an bundletype).
If I compile the standalone without these info.plist, all is good !

So I need to actualize the plist with an new one.

Post Reply

Return to “iOS Deployment”