Override mute switch?

Getting into LiveCode for iOS? Ask your questions here.

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, robinmiller, kevinmiller

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 3182
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria

Re: Override mute switch?

Post by richmond62 » Mon Feb 11, 2019 7:41 pm

Theoretically, then, you should not have to over-ride
the mute switch UNLESS you want to "rudely awake" your end-user,

because "normal" sounds from your standalone should be heard unless
the end-user has actually used their physical volume switch to silence
the whole device.

"Don’t repurpose audio controls. People expect audio controls to behave consistently
in all apps. Never redefine the meaning of an audio control. If your app doesn’t support
certain controls, then it simply shouldn’t respond to them."

[-hh]
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 1968
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2013 11:52 pm
Location: Göttingen, DE

Re: Override mute switch?

Post by [-hh] » Tue Feb 12, 2019 4:23 am

Why does a special class of developers (incl. some of the Apple guys) always believe that they must think for the user?
The probability is very high that a lot of the users are much more clever than that whole class of developers ...
After a few trials I don't use iTunes any more. This is an app for idiots (those who believe that the developers are so clever that they can think for them).
shiftLock happens

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 3182
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria

Re: Override mute switch?

Post by richmond62 » Tue Feb 12, 2019 12:16 pm

Why does a special class of developers
Well said that, err, developer.

All Cretans are lairs. 8)

bogs
Posts: 3287
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: Override mute switch?

Post by bogs » Tue Feb 12, 2019 12:34 pm

richmond62 wrote:
Mon Feb 11, 2019 7:41 pm
Theoretically, then, you should not have to over-ride
the mute switch
<sic>
because "normal" sounds from your standalone should be heard unless
the end-user has actually used their physical volume switch to silence
the whole device.
I actually agree with that, you should not have to over-ride things. Of course, though, I also think all devices *should* have standard ear phone plugs, and that screens should *not* have notches in them, and all devices should be reparable (at least to the extent of putting a battery in them) by anyone.

Somehow, though, the rest of the world doesn't seem to think like that, except in theory :wink:
Image

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 3182
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria

Re: Override mute switch?

Post by richmond62 » Tue Feb 12, 2019 7:44 pm

I actually agree with that
Well, up to a point . . . but one also has to admit Apple
are a right bossy bunch of *&@%^s.

Or, as some silly person told me, when they invited me to a funeral,
I "had" to wear a suit: of course, as I don't have a suit, I went in my second-best kilt. 8)

Post Reply

Return to “iOS Deployment”