Page 1 of 1

iOS wows - Screen not updating on a card

Posted: Sun Sep 23, 2018 10:36 pm
by mvillion
Hi

This is a new one on me.

I have an app that workes perfectly in iOS 11.x
Moved it to iOS 12. Made a number of tweaks along the way but nothing major. Just timely minor bug fixes and one extra card. The whole app works perfectly except...

The apps first card now has a problem where it does not always redraw the screen. There is a whole block across the top of the screen about 15 pixels high (Guess) that does not refresh and the bottom 5/9ths of the screen does not update either. (Just over 1/2 the screen). A finger slide up from the bottom of the screen (brings up the apple menu a bit) and the screen refreshes and show everything that it should. I did not change the way this screen was redrawn in my tweaks and it did works in iOS 11.4 without an issue.

To confirm the iOS bit, I put a copy on an iOS 11.4 device and it works perfectly.

Any ideas?

Re: iOS wows - Screen not updating on a card

Posted: Mon Sep 24, 2018 8:02 am
by LiveCode_Panos
Hello Matt,

Maybe you could try setting the acceleratedRendering of the stack to true (add this to the openstack handler).

Kind regards,
Panos
--

Re: iOS wows - Screen not updating on a card

Posted: Mon Sep 24, 2018 8:23 am
by mvillion
Thanks for the idea.

Just tried that. It did not make any difference.

On the card, I have a number of groups of objects. Some large and some small. For the next test, I moved them out of the way to make sure that it was not one of those getting 'stuck' in a weird or wacky way. Once again - dead end. With all potential groups moved out of the way, I am still getting the weirdness. There is no discernable objects that line up with this.

Another test. I did a screen snapshot. That also refreshes the screen and the rendering is completed.

the command used to switch between the card is a simple
go to card "input card"

The really strange things is it works perfectly in iOS 11.4!!

Re: iOS wows - Screen not updating on a card

Posted: Mon Sep 24, 2018 8:47 am
by LiveCode_Panos
Hmm ok. Maybe you could try the following:

(1)

Code: Select all

on forceScreenRedraw
   set the backcolor of this card to the backcolor of this card
end forceScreenRedraw
(2)

Code: Select all

...
send "forceScreenRedraw" to me in 10 milliseconds
...
So (1) will force a screen redraw. Add (2) to opencard. If this does not work, you could try adjusting the time (10 milliseconds)

Regards,
Panos
--

Re: iOS wows - Screen not updating on a card

Posted: Mon Sep 24, 2018 9:19 am
by mvillion
Hi

UPDATE

Setting the acceleratedRendering DID actually work. My test was faulty. I forgot I had set the 'beta entitlements' flag so when I was doing a local test direct into the iPad, it looked like it was updating but in fact it was just closing the existing app and not putting the new code in place. Turning off 'beta entitlements' meant the code upload worked and thus the acceleratedRendering worked to.

I noticed this when I place a button on the screen for testing the forcescreenredraw and the button did not appear. It was a case of hang on... Why is the deployed code not updating.

Thanks
Matt

Re: iOS wows - Screen not updating on a card

Posted: Mon Sep 24, 2018 9:36 am
by LiveCode_Panos
Hi Matt,

Nice, thanks for the update. Hehe yes this has happened to me as well, so now I always delete the existing app from the device before installing a new one :)

Best,
Panos
--

Re: iOS wows - Screen not updating on a card

Posted: Wed Sep 26, 2018 10:57 pm
by mvillion
This was the Panos solution which worked. 8)

Code: Select all

set the acceleratedRendering of this stack to true