Blank screen on ios12 beta

Getting into LiveCode for iOS? Ask your questions here.

Moderators: heatherlaine, Klaus, FourthWorld, robinmiller, kevinmiller

Post Reply
brotee
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2016 9:15 am

Blank screen on ios12 beta

Post by brotee » Wed Jul 25, 2018 7:42 am

every app i made in LC is blank on ios 12 beta, i know it's beta, but App store rejected an app cause it launches with black screen.

i afraid of ios12 if all of my apps will be blank screen.

what can be the problem?

LiveCode_Panos
Livecode Staff Member
Livecode Staff Member
Posts: 493
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 4:03 pm

Re: Blank screen on ios12 beta

Post by LiveCode_Panos » Wed Jul 25, 2018 9:49 am

Hello brotee,

We are aware of this issue, and we are currently investigating.

You can add your email to the cc list of this bug report

https://quality.livecode.com/show_bug.cgi?id=21396

so as you get a notification when the status of this report changes.

Best,
Panos
--

simon.schvartzman
Posts: 183
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2014 12:52 am
Location: Brazil

Re: Blank screen on ios12 beta

Post by simon.schvartzman » Wed Sep 19, 2018 11:07 pm

Hi @panos, today I updated my iPhone to iOS12 and got the blank screen so I've installed LC 9.0.1 but I'm getting many errors when trying to make a stand alone file.

Please see below a few screen captures (there are many of them) hoping it would be enough for you to guide me on how to proceed.

Many thanks in advance
win1.jpeg
win2.jpeg
win3.jpeg
Simon

LiveCode_Panos
Livecode Staff Member
Livecode Staff Member
Posts: 493
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 4:03 pm

Re: Blank screen on ios12 beta

Post by LiveCode_Panos » Thu Sep 20, 2018 8:36 am

Hello Simon,

A rough guess is that all these errors are caused because the version of the command line tools that are used does not match the version of Xcode. To check that:

1. Open the version of Xcode you used when trying to build the standalone. Say it is version X.Y.
2. In Xcode's menubar, go to Xcode -> Preferences -> Locations
3. In the "Command Line Tools" dropdown, choose version X.Y
4. Quit LC and restart it, and try to build again an iOS standalone.

Hope this helps.
Panos
--

simon.schvartzman
Posts: 183
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2014 12:52 am
Location: Brazil

Re: Blank screen on ios12 beta

Post by simon.schvartzman » Thu Sep 20, 2018 2:09 pm

Hi Panos, many thanks for your prompt and enlightening answer.

Good news: I was able to compile.

Bad news: it doesn't install (it seems I'm doing something wrong regarding Xcode relationship with my iPhone 6 but can't identify how to fix it)

xc1.jpeg
xc2.jpeg
Looking forward for your answer.

Cheers
Simon

LiveCode_Panos
Livecode Staff Member
Livecode Staff Member
Posts: 493
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 4:03 pm

Re: Blank screen on ios12 beta

Post by LiveCode_Panos » Thu Sep 20, 2018 2:31 pm

Hello Simon,

Hmm, what version of Xcode do you use to build the standalone? Could you also post a screenshot of the iOS standalone application settings?

Kind regards,
Panos
--

simon.schvartzman
Posts: 183
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2014 12:52 am
Location: Brazil

Re: Blank screen on ios12 beta

Post by simon.schvartzman » Thu Sep 20, 2018 3:52 pm

Hi Panos, here it goes:
p1.jpeg
p2.jpeg
Simon

simon.schvartzman
Posts: 183
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2014 12:52 am
Location: Brazil

Re: Blank screen on ios12 beta

Post by simon.schvartzman » Thu Sep 20, 2018 4:00 pm

Hi Panos I removed the "Build 32 bit slice only" and it installed OK.

Funny think is that at first I wasn't able to see the Icon on the iPhone Screen but if I search for the App it is there and runs OK....

After a Power Off / Power On on the iPhone the Icon appeared on the screen...

Who knows...

Thanks for your support
Simon

LiveCode_Panos
Livecode Staff Member
Livecode Staff Member
Posts: 493
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 4:03 pm

Re: Blank screen on ios12 beta

Post by LiveCode_Panos » Fri Sep 21, 2018 8:58 am

Hello Simon,

Thanks for the follow up. I am glad you found the culprit. Yes, starting from iOS 11 if I remember correctly, your app *must* contain a 64bit slice.

Kind regards,
Panos

--

iphonesupport123
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2018 12:07 pm

Re: Blank screen on ios12 beta

Post by iphonesupport123 » Tue Sep 25, 2018 6:32 am

LiveCode_Panos wrote:
Fri Sep 21, 2018 8:58 am
Hello Simon,

Thanks for the follow up. I am glad you found the culprit. Yes, starting from iOS 11 if I remember correctly, your app *must* contain a 64bit slice.

Kind regards,
Panos

--
Yes, I also got the same things by follow your instruction I am recently got the IOS 12 and then I want to some important application that's I am not able to do this I follow the iPhone Support Number for the help but I have still a problem.

Post Reply

Return to “iOS Deployment”