xCodeError_oTool Solved

Getting into LiveCode for iOS? Ask your questions here.

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

Post Reply
jmburnod
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2718
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 5:35 pm
Location: Genève
Contact:

xCodeError_oTool Solved

Post by jmburnod » Tue May 15, 2018 11:14 am

Hi All,
Sudddenly I got an error while compilation with these messages.
(OSX 10.13, xCode 8.3.3, LC 8.1.6)
Image
First time I meet it (i compiled one standalone 4 days ago with success)

Is there anyone who met it and found a trick ?

Thanks in advance
Jean-Marc
Last edited by jmburnod on Tue May 15, 2018 2:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.
https://alternatic.ch

LiveCode_Panos
Livecode Staff Member
Livecode Staff Member
Posts: 818
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 4:03 pm

Re: xCodeError_oTool

Post by LiveCode_Panos » Tue May 15, 2018 11:35 am

Hi Jean-Marc,

What is the output of this command in the terminal?

Code: Select all

xcode-select -p
it should output a path to your Xcode.app bundle:

/Applications/Xcode.app/Contents/Developer

I assume /Applications/Xcode.app is indeed Xcode 8.3.3, correct?

Did you select "Install" in the dialog that appeared? If not, I suggest you do so.

Best,
Panos
--

jmburnod
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2718
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 5:35 pm
Location: Genève
Contact:

Re: xCodeError_oTool

Post by jmburnod » Tue May 15, 2018 11:43 am

Hi Panos
Thanks
I get this:
Last login: Tue May 15 09:29:59 on console:
iMacdeJeanMarc:~ jean-marcburnod$ xcode-select -p
xcode-select: error: unable to get active developer directory, use `sudo xcode-select --switch path/to/Xcode.app` to set one (or see `man xcode-select`)
iMacdeJeanMarc:~ jean-marcburnod$
I have two xCode versions in my application folder.
xCode 8.3.3 is called "xCode 8.3.3" (selected in mobile preference)
xCode 9.2 is called "xCode 9.2"
I tried to put "xCode 9.2" in trash with same results
Did you select "Install" in the dialog that appeared? If not, I suggest you do so.
No. Maybe this afternoon

Best
Jean-Marc
https://alternatic.ch

LiveCode_Panos
Livecode Staff Member
Livecode Staff Member
Posts: 818
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 4:03 pm

Re: xCodeError_oTool

Post by LiveCode_Panos » Tue May 15, 2018 11:55 am

Ok I see. It seems that the path to Xcode's command line tools is not set. Try this in a terminal:

Code: Select all

sudo xcode-select -s /path/to/Xcode8.3.3.app
so if your xcode8.3.3 is in /Applications/Xcode.app then this command should be:

Code: Select all

sudo xcode-select -s /Applications/Xcode.app
then if you do

Code: Select all

xcode-select -p 
you should get:

Code: Select all

/Applications/Xcode.app/Contents/Developer
and building a standalone should have no problems.

Best,
Panos
--

jmburnod
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2718
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 5:35 pm
Location: Genève
Contact:

Re: xCodeError_oTool

Post by jmburnod » Tue May 15, 2018 1:13 pm

Thanks again Panos
Finally I renamed my xCode file to "xCode.app" and reselected it in mobile preferences and all works as expected. :D
Best
Jean-Marc
https://alternatic.ch

Post Reply

Return to “iOS Deployment”