iOS Error

Getting into LiveCode for iOS? Ask your questions here.

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

Post Reply
chelling
Posts: 100
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2007 3:14 am

iOS Error

Post by chelling » Tue Mar 13, 2018 8:37 pm

I am working on an iOS app update and suddenly started having problems. It started after adding this to the stack script to stop text to speech once a use has tapped/clicked on a button. stopGenieSpeech has been added to all buttons.

command stopGenieSpeech
if isMobile() then sunnYspeechStop "Now"
end stopGenieSpeech

So, I added this to the stack script: answer "There was an error" && pError. In the simulator, this is coming back...a lot "There was an error 2,0,0". These are my questions:

I know that 2 indicates recursion error. What is the 0,0?
Is recursion in LiveCode due to functions or an out of control loop?
Any suggestions?

I am also logging errors to the console, but what I am able to find is inconsistent and to be frank above my pay grade.

This is the set-up:
Mac OS 10.12.6
LiveCode Business 8.1.6
Xcode 8
Xcode 8.3.3

I have a custom font (Blogger Sans-Bold.ttf) in the Add Files pane in addition to the external sunnytext2speech.lcext 2.1.

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 7214
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: iOS Error

Post by jacque » Wed Mar 14, 2018 4:34 pm

If removing that single command fixes the problem then I'd suspect an issue with the external. I'd check with the author to see if there's a solution, or for help tracking down the cause.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

jmburnod
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2718
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 5:35 pm
Location: Genève
Contact:

Re: iOS Error

Post by jmburnod » Wed Mar 14, 2018 7:43 pm

I use sunnyspeechstop "now" without issue with this setup
OS X 10.12.3
LC 8.1.6
xCode 8.3.3

I didn't try with LC 8.1.6

But I get an error when I try to compile on OS X 10.13 with
LC 8.1.9 and xCode 9.2 (requisite at first April by Apple for new app)
..linking for arm (arm64) failed with undefined symbols for architecture arm64:
"__libinfoptr_sunnytext2speech"...
I sent a message to Thierry about this
https://alternatic.ch

chelling
Posts: 100
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2007 3:14 am

Re: iOS Error

Post by chelling » Fri Mar 16, 2018 2:28 am

Did Thierry respond to your message?

jmburnod
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2718
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 5:35 pm
Location: Genève
Contact:

Re: iOS Error

Post by jmburnod » Sat Mar 17, 2018 11:19 am

Hi All,

Good news, I'm able to use xCode 9.2 to install an app (LC 8.1.6, xCode 8.3.3) on iOS 11.2.6.
sunnyspeechstop "now" works fine
Did Thierry respond to your message?
Usually Thierry answers quickly.
I saw this message on his site.
Temporary interruption of activity for personal reasons.
Use the contact button for further information.
I'm really sorry about that
Best regards
Jean-Marc
https://alternatic.ch

chelling
Posts: 100
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2007 3:14 am

Re: iOS Error

Post by chelling » Sat Mar 17, 2018 3:04 pm

Thanks for letting us know Jean-Marc.

chelling
Posts: 100
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2007 3:14 am

Re: iOS Error

Post by chelling » Sun Mar 25, 2018 9:17 pm

After a lot of incremental testing, the error seems to be related to this line:

if the environment is "mobile" then mobileClearTouches

Has anyone else experienced this?

quailcreek
Posts: 746
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:01 pm
Location: McKenna, WA

Re: iOS Error

Post by quailcreek » Sun Mar 25, 2018 10:36 pm

Yes I have seen this. I reported it as a bug in 2016.

https://quality.livecode.com/show_bug.cgi?id=17035
Tom
MacBook Pro OS Mojave 10.14

chelling
Posts: 100
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2007 3:14 am

Re: iOS Error

Post by chelling » Sun Mar 25, 2018 11:48 pm

Thanks Tom. I guess I will use empty mouseUp / mouseDown handlers to catch these. Hopefully that will work.

Post Reply

Return to “iOS Deployment”