Nav and Header Bars on iOS simulator ?

Getting into LiveCode for iOS? Ask your questions here.

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

Post Reply
Thierry
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 875
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 3:42 pm

Nav and Header Bars on iOS simulator ?

Post by Thierry » Fri Feb 03, 2017 9:56 am

Hi,

Playing for the 1st time with navigation and header bars,
I can't managed to have them working on the simulator
but they are fine on my iPad.

Screenshot below.

What do I have to do to make them working?
sunnYscreen.png
Left: original stack in LC 8.1.3
Right: iOS 10.2 Simulator iPhone 6


Thanks for any hints,

Thierry
Last edited by Thierry on Fri Feb 03, 2017 10:39 am, edited 1 time in total.
!
SUNNY-TDZ.COM doesn't belong to me since 2021.
To contact me, use the Private messages. Merci.
!

LiveCode_Panos
Livecode Staff Member
Livecode Staff Member
Posts: 818
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 4:03 pm

Re: Nav and Header Bars on iOS simulator ?

Post by LiveCode_Panos » Fri Feb 03, 2017 10:39 am

Hi Thierry,

It seems like those two widgets are not included in the standalone. I suggest you choose "Select Inclusions" in the "General" pane of the Standalone Application Settings, and then go to "Inclusions" pane and make sure that the nav bar and header bar inclusions are checked.

However, this does not explain why you see them on the device but not in the simulator, but it is worth trying this suggestion.

Best,
Panos
--

Thierry
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 875
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 3:42 pm

Re: Nav and Header Bars on iOS simulator ?

Post by Thierry » Fri Feb 03, 2017 10:51 am

LiveCode_Panos wrote:Hi Thierry,

It seems like those two widgets are not included in the standalone. I suggest you choose "Select Inclusions" in the "General" pane of the Standalone Application Settings, and then go to "Inclusions" pane and make sure that the nav bar and header bar inclusions are checked.
Thanks for the suggestion Panos,

Doesn't work :(

BUT, including also "SVG icon", and "icon SVG library" does the trick !!!!

However, this does not explain why you see them on the device but not in the simulator,
but it is worth trying this suggestion.
--
Hmm, looks like a bug for me :roll:


Thanks for your prompt answer,

Kind regards,

Thierry
!
SUNNY-TDZ.COM doesn't belong to me since 2021.
To contact me, use the Private messages. Merci.
!

LiveCode_Panos
Livecode Staff Member
Livecode Staff Member
Posts: 818
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 4:03 pm

Re: Nav and Header Bars on iOS simulator ?

Post by LiveCode_Panos » Fri Feb 03, 2017 11:17 am

Hi Thierry,
Doesn't work :(

BUT, including also "SVG icon", and "icon SVG library" does the trick !!!!
Hmm, this is interesting. Looks like a bug. Do you by any chance have any SVG widget in your stack? IIRC there is a bug where if you add widget X and then widget Y in your stack, but in the Inclusions you check *only* widget X, then no widget is displayed at all in the standalone. But if you check widget Y as well, the problem is fixed.

If you have no SVG widget in your stack, would you mind filing a bug at http://www.quality.livecode.com/ and include your sample stack?

Best,
Panos
--

Thierry
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 875
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 3:42 pm

Re: Nav and Header Bars on iOS simulator ?

Post by Thierry » Fri Feb 03, 2017 12:19 pm

LiveCode_Panos wrote:Hi Thierry,
including also "SVG icon", and "icon SVG library" does the trick !!!!
Hmm, this is interesting.
Looks like a bug. Do you by any chance have any SVG widget in your stack?
IIRC there is a bug where if you add widget X and then widget Y in your stack,
but in the Inclusions you check *only* widget X, then no widget is displayed at all in the standalone.
But if you check widget Y as well, the problem is fixed.

If you have no SVG widget in your stack, would you mind filing a bug at
http://www.quality.livecode.com/ and include your sample stack?
Hi Panos,

Check again my 1st post with the image.
I've done the minimum possible:

Mac Sierra, LC 8.1.3 (RC 1).
New stack
drop a nav bar
drop a header bar
drop a button, a field and a label
no scripts and Bingo.

2nd try, I did add a stack script:

Code: Select all

local isMobile

on preOpenStack
   put (the environment is "mobile") into isMobile
   if isMobile then
      set the fullscreenmode of this stack to "exactFit"
      send "initMobile" to me in 1 ticks
   end if
end preOpenStack

private on initMobile
   lock screen
   set the acceleratedrendering of this stack to true
   set the compositorType of this stack to "coregraphics"
end initMobile
but still the same.

Third try with the recipe I talked in my previous post did the trick.

HTH,

Thierry

PS: for the bug report, I"m sorry but can't do it right now.
!
SUNNY-TDZ.COM doesn't belong to me since 2021.
To contact me, use the Private messages. Merci.
!

LiveCode_Panos
Livecode Staff Member
Livecode Staff Member
Posts: 818
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 4:03 pm

Re: Nav and Header Bars on iOS simulator ?

Post by LiveCode_Panos » Fri Feb 03, 2017 12:58 pm

Thanks Thierry. I will try your recipe and file a bug myself if I can reproduce it.

Thierry
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 875
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 3:42 pm

Re: Nav and Header Bars on iOS simulator ?

Post by Thierry » Fri Feb 03, 2017 1:03 pm

LiveCode_Panos wrote:Thanks Thierry. I will try your recipe and file a bug myself if I can reproduce it.
Great.

and I have a clean install of LC 8.1.3 without any plugins or whatsoever.

HTH,

Thierry
!
SUNNY-TDZ.COM doesn't belong to me since 2021.
To contact me, use the Private messages. Merci.
!

LiveCode_Panos
Livecode Staff Member
Livecode Staff Member
Posts: 818
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 4:03 pm

Re: Nav and Header Bars on iOS simulator ?

Post by LiveCode_Panos » Sun Feb 05, 2017 7:21 pm

Hi Thierry,

Unfortunately I cannot reproduce this issue. I have the same setup with you, and the nav bar and header bar are displayed as expected in the iPhone 6 simulator. I have only "header bar" and "nav bar" checked in the "Inclusions".

We are happy to investigate this further if you want to attach your stack here, or at http://www.quality.livecode.com/ when you have time.

Best,
Panos
--

Thierry
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 875
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 3:42 pm

Re: Nav and Header Bars on iOS simulator ?

Post by Thierry » Wed Feb 22, 2017 1:35 pm

LiveCode_Panos wrote:Hi Thierry,
We are happy to investigate this further if you want to attach your stack here, or at http://www.quality.livecode.com/ when you have time.
--
Hi Panos,

Sorry for the delay but here is my today's bug report:

http://www.quality.livecode.com/show_bug.cgi?id=19298

Tested with LC 8.1.3 stable

Regards,

Thierry
!
SUNNY-TDZ.COM doesn't belong to me since 2021.
To contact me, use the Private messages. Merci.
!

Post Reply

Return to “iOS Deployment”