browser widget

Getting into LiveCode for iOS? Ask your questions here.

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, robinmiller, kevinmiller

Post Reply
scotttyang
Posts: 125
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 12:01 am

browser widget

Post by scotttyang » Sun May 15, 2016 5:34 pm

maybe I am missing something. The browser widget works just fine in Livecode, but when testing on the simulator for iOS 9.3, it is just black. and nothing comes up. Is there something I'm supposed to call to make the browser widget to load up an external webpage? I checked the widget browser under "copy file" section.

BUTTTT...when I add the "clock widget" the browser works....?

Scott

MWCoastMedia
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 5:31 pm

Re: browser widget

Post by MWCoastMedia » Mon May 16, 2016 1:50 pm

My Browser widget isn't working in iOS 9.3 either. Works fine in LiveCode, works fine on Android.

I tried your Clock widget workaround but didn't have any success.

MWCoastMedia
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 5:31 pm

Re: browser widget

Post by MWCoastMedia » Fri May 20, 2016 2:07 pm

I can't even get the LiveCode provided example to work on iOS. Works fine in Android.

http://lessons.livecode.com/m/4069/l/22 ... er-control

I can't rollback OS, LC, and Xcode to test in older versions. Currently using 10.11.4, 8.0.1rc1, and 7.3.1.

LiveCode_Panos
Livecode Staff Member
Livecode Staff Member
Posts: 582
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 4:03 pm

Re: browser widget

Post by LiveCode_Panos » Mon May 23, 2016 12:55 pm

Hi all,

I cannot reproduce this problem on my end, but I guess you see this problem because you use http urls. Currently iOS is blocking http urls. If this is the case, you have two options:

(1). Either use "https" instead of "http" in the URL,
(2). Or disable ATS (Application Transport Security) in the Standalone Application Settings for iOS

We recommend option (1).

Hope this helps,
Panos
--

simon.schvartzman
Posts: 309
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2014 12:52 am
Location: Brazil

Re: browser widget

Post by simon.schvartzman » Wed May 25, 2016 1:44 am

Hi team, same here, this are my findings:

- My App does not have any back end access, in other words no HTTP urls. Therefore Option 1 of @LiveCode_Panos doesn't apply.
- Option 2 (Disable ATS) didn't solve the problem
- Adding the Clock Widget did the trick!!!

I guess LiveCode should spend more energy exploring the issue.

Best!
Simon
________________________________________
To ";" or not to ";" that is the question

MWCoastMedia
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 5:31 pm

Re: browser widget

Post by MWCoastMedia » Wed May 25, 2016 3:34 pm

Disabling ATS made everything work, albeit unsecure. The pages that are being loaded are about to be redesigned anyway, so I'll just make sure the company slaps an SSL certificate on that site. I didn't know iOS was blocking non HTTPS urls now, and just recently upgraded my OS (requiring an Xcode update too) so this was a new *bug*, and explains why stuff is working as anticipated on Android. Thanks for the heads up Panos! It would be nice if there was a hint or tooltip for this in the widget inspector.

After addressing that and doing some tests, it seemed like sometimes a browser widget worked without the clock and sometimes it only worked with it. Slightly flaky, but simple enough workaround for now.

Post Reply

Return to “iOS Deployment”