Navigation Bar widget: change icons?

Getting into LiveCode for iOS? Ask your questions here.

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, robinmiller, kevinmiller

Post Reply
Fjord
Posts: 68
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2008 6:18 pm
Location: Western Europe

Navigation Bar widget: change icons?

Post by Fjord » Wed Feb 24, 2016 10:00 am

Hi,
Quote from release notes of LC8 DP15:
Navigation Bar widget
Various bug fixes
(...)Changing the navIcons via script / property inspector does not work
I find this ambiguous: is it supposed to be fixed? I've tried

Code: Select all

put the navData of widget "NavigationBar" into navDataArray
put iconSVGPathFromName("check") into navDataArray[5]["icon"]
set the navData of widget "NavigationBar" to navDataArray
and

Code: Select all

get the navicons of widget "NavigationBar"
if item 5 of it is "check" then
   set the navicons of widget "NavigationBar" to "cogs,calendar,trash,filter,check empty,file text alt"
neither seems to work. Is there a known workaround?
Also, where can I find a tutorial or comprehensive info about SVG icons?
Thanks for your help!
--
François

Klaus
Posts: 11062
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Navigation Bar widget: change icons?

Post by Klaus » Wed Feb 24, 2016 10:31 am

Bonjour François,

I am also still new to widgets but could get this to work in DP 15:
...
put the navicons of widget "NavigationBar" into tIcons
put "check" into item 5 of tIcons
set the navicons of widget "NavigationBar" to tIcons
...
Hope that helps.


Best

Klaus

Fjord
Posts: 68
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2008 6:18 pm
Location: Western Europe

Re: Navigation Bar widget: change icons?

Post by Fjord » Wed Feb 24, 2016 10:58 am

That's similar to my first attempt. Did your icon change? Just now, I copied from your post and did

Code: Select all

put the navicons of widget "NavigationBar" into tIcons
if item 5 of tIcons is "check" then
  put "check empty" into item 5 of tIcons
else
  put "check" into item 5 of tIcons
end if
set the navicons of widget "NavigationBar" to tIcons
but the icon did not change. I'm using DP15 too... I tried with another name, also, just in case there was a catch with the space(s) in "check empty" but the icon did not change, neither visually on the card nor in the nav bar properties.
--
François

bn
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 3279
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 9:12 pm
Location: Bochum, Germany

Re: Navigation Bar widget: change icons?

Post by bn » Wed Feb 24, 2016 11:41 am

Hi François,

it just tried your script

Code: Select all

on mouseUp
   put the navicons of widget "Navigation Bar" into tIcons
   if item 5 of tIcons is "check" then
      put "check empty" into item 5 of tIcons
   else
      put "check" into item 5 of tIcons
   end if
   set the navicons of widget "Navigation Bar" to tIcons
   set the navLabels of widget "Navigation Bar" to tIcons
end mouseUp
and this works for me. Note the space in "Navigation Bar"

Kind regards
Bernd

Fjord
Posts: 68
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2008 6:18 pm
Location: Western Europe

Re: Navigation Bar widget: change icons?

Post by Fjord » Wed Feb 24, 2016 4:04 pm

Thanks Bernd and Klaus!

Bernd: the name of my nav bar is "NavigationBar" (no space)"
I experimented with your suggestion and found that the instruction
set the navLabels of widget "NavigationBar" to tIcons
modifies the name of the buttons as sent to the "navigate" handler; therefore my "switch" in "navigate" didn't work anymore but I fixed that easily.

I solved my problem: the nav bar I created happened to be duplicated 3 times. The nav bar that received the message to change the icon was under the 2 others, hence hidden :oops: . Found it while playing with transparency. I just had to eliminate the duplicates.
By the by, this duplication of controls happened two more times recently with DP14 & DP15. Strange, this never happens to me; I must have drunk too much coffee :shock:

Any pointer to a tutorial or doc on SVG icons?
--
François

bn
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 3279
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 9:12 pm
Location: Bochum, Germany

Re: Navigation Bar widget: change icons?

Post by bn » Wed Feb 24, 2016 4:40 pm

François,

the font that is used for the icons in widgets is "Font Awesome". It is included with LC 8. Google for it.

SVG is a very broad topic

http://www.w3schools.com/svg/

easily confusing (for me at least)

Basically SVG as used in widgets in LC 8 is a description of a path which is then drawn by the widget.

e.g.
M150 0 L75 200 L225 200 Z
this draws a triangle, M150 0 is the starting point (M = move to) and L75 200 and L225 200 are Lines (line to) Z indicates to close the form by drawing to the begin of the line.

In some vector drawing programs you can save a shape as SVG and you can open that file with a text editor. There you will find embedded into quotation marks something this
d="M150 0 L75 200 L225 200 Z"
but more elaborate. You can copy the part inside the quotation marks and paste that string into the SVG widget to display that shape.

Kind regards

Bernd

Fjord
Posts: 68
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2008 6:18 pm
Location: Western Europe

Re: Navigation Bar widget: change icons?

Post by Fjord » Thu Feb 25, 2016 11:54 am

Thanks for the pointer! I haven't looked at w3school for a loooong time, I discovered many interesting things!
F.
--
François

Post Reply

Return to “iOS Deployment”