Specifying app languages in binary

Getting into LiveCode for iOS? Ask your questions here.

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, kevinmiller, robinmiller

Post Reply
nower
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed May 22, 2013 11:02 pm

Specifying app languages in binary

Post by nower » Wed Aug 06, 2014 12:07 pm

I just learned that the list of languages displayed in the Apple App Store under Languages is set in the app binary.
How do I set the languages supported by the app in the standalone that I submit to Apple?
I don't see an option to specify languages in the Standalone Application Settings.

endernafi
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 296
Joined: Wed May 02, 2012 12:23 pm
Location: New York
Contact:

Re: Specifying app languages in binary

Post by endernafi » Thu Aug 07, 2014 7:06 pm

* Create one empty folder for each language you need.
For example: de.lproj, fr.lproj, zh.lproj, etc.

* Put them into the root folder of your project, that is the same level as your main stack file.
You cannot group them in subfolders, be careful that your folder structure is same as in the screenshot.
~
folder.jpeg
~


* Add those folders to your project via Copy Files pane of Standalone Application Settings menu item.
~
copy.jpeg
~


Hope it helps,

~ Ender
~... together, we're smarter ...~
__________________________________________

macOS Sierra • LiveCode 7 & xCode 8

nower
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed May 22, 2013 11:02 pm

Re: Specifying app languages in binary

Post by nower » Fri Aug 08, 2014 1:10 am

Thank you very much for the instructions, Ender!

Do you know how I can test the result without resubmitting the app to the Apple App Store?

Werner

endernafi
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 296
Joined: Wed May 02, 2012 12:23 pm
Location: New York
Contact:

Re: Specifying app languages in binary

Post by endernafi » Fri Aug 08, 2014 1:49 am

Well, theoretically this should have been worked:

Code: Select all

on mouseUp
    answer mobileCurrentLocale()
end mouseUp
~
1.jpg
~
Then, changing the device's or simulator's system language should be reflected to the answer dialogue.
Unfortunately, it doesn't.
I'm getting always en_US with the default OK button,
instead of tr_TR with the default button as TAMAM in Turkish.

It seems a bug, since I could confirm the system's language is changed checking the default iOS apps, safari, preferences, etc.


Then, I've added one of the Monte's externals, namely mergPop:

Code: Select all

on mouseUp
    mergPopActivity
end mouseUp
~
2.jpg
~
And voila, the activity sheet's text is in the system language; russian, japanese, turkish, german, etc.

If you have mergExt, try that.
If not, find a website which has social sharing or warning capabilities {as an answer dialogue};
then create a mobile browser and navigate to that site within your livecode app.


Best,

~ Ender
~... together, we're smarter ...~
__________________________________________

macOS Sierra • LiveCode 7 & xCode 8

nower
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed May 22, 2013 11:02 pm

Re: Specifying app languages in binary

Post by nower » Fri Aug 08, 2014 2:56 am

Thank you again, Ender!

My app does switch languages as I expect (I do it manually in the app itself).

I am just wondering how I can confirm that the iTunes store will list the additional languages that are supported, and for which I will add folders per your instructions.

Werner

endernafi
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 296
Joined: Wed May 02, 2012 12:23 pm
Location: New York
Contact:

Re: Specifying app languages in binary

Post by endernafi » Fri Aug 08, 2014 3:43 am

nower wrote: I am just wondering how I can confirm that the iTunes store will list the additional languages that are supported...
Yes, I got that Werner.
I should have stated this beforehand not to raise confusions:
See, confirming that your app responds correctly to the system-wide language changes
also confirms that iTunes Store accepts those language additions.

By responding correctly, I mean the native-to-iOS parts of your Livecode app, of course.
That's the proof that the underlying OS accepted your additions.
If iOS accepts, then iTunes Store should accept, too.

Anyway, I think you're safe to proceed, give it a try to upload your bundle to store.
Hope, it'll go well...


Best,

~ Ender
~... together, we're smarter ...~
__________________________________________

macOS Sierra • LiveCode 7 & xCode 8

nower
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed May 22, 2013 11:02 pm

Re: Specifying app languages in binary

Post by nower » Sat Aug 09, 2014 4:01 pm

Thank you, Ender, I will try it!

Werner

Post Reply

Return to “iOS Deployment”