menuPick pop-ups are misplaced...

Getting into LiveCode for iOS? Ask your questions here.

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

Post Reply
paulsr
Posts: 222
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 9:47 am
Location: Khanom, Nakhon Si Thammarat, Thailand
Contact:

menuPick pop-ups are misplaced...

Post by paulsr » Sat Mar 22, 2014 7:38 am

Greetings:

I've just noticed that LC apps which use...

Code: Select all

set the fullscreenmode of this stack to "letterbox"
...any selection boxes, which pop-up when a menuPick field is tapped, are misplaced on a retina iPad, whereas they are correctly placed on a non-retina iPad.

If I imagine the screen to be one fourth of its size, occupying the top left corner, then the pop-ups would be in the correct locations.

Is this an LC bug, or do I need to do something to get them into the correct location?

Thanks...

--paul

[LC 6.6, iPad Retina iOS 7.1]

paulsr
Posts: 222
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 9:47 am
Location: Khanom, Nakhon Si Thammarat, Thailand
Contact:

Re: menuPick pop-ups are misplaced...

Post by paulsr » Mon Mar 24, 2014 11:51 am

Folks, I'd really appreciate knowing if anyone else is experiencing the misplacement of popups.

I can't figure if I have a bug or LC has a bug.

Thanks...

--paul

paulsr
Posts: 222
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 9:47 am
Location: Khanom, Nakhon Si Thammarat, Thailand
Contact:

Re: menuPick pop-ups are misplaced...

Post by paulsr » Sat Apr 26, 2014 9:49 am

Sorry ... I need to raise this issue again, because to me it seems like a serious problem.

Please look at the image in this link...

http://sr-apps.com/temp/IMG_0664.PNG

I tapped on the field shown as "??:??" and the time "spinner" popped-up too high and too far left.

This happens consistently in all my apps. They are correctly placed on non-retina devices, but misplaced on retina devices.

AFAIK I have no control over where the selection spinners are placed, so I can't see how I've mis-coded anything.

Is anyone else experiencing this???

TIA

--paul

{LC 6.6]

Nakia
Posts: 425
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 8:57 am

Re: menuPick pop-ups are misplaced...

Post by Nakia » Sat Apr 26, 2014 12:36 pm

Hi Paul,

Upload a test stack here (place it in a ZIP file) and I and others will be happy to take a look.

Is this stack using full screen mode by any chance?

EDIT: Ignore the above, just read your first post...

paulsr
Posts: 222
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 9:47 am
Location: Khanom, Nakhon Si Thammarat, Thailand
Contact:

Re: menuPick pop-ups are misplaced...

Post by paulsr » Sat Apr 26, 2014 4:02 pm

Nakia wrote:Hi Paul,

Upload a test stack here (place it in a ZIP file) and I and others will be happy to take a look.
Will do ... but not for a few days because I'm about to move countries and will be offline.

Thanks...

--paul

Nakia
Posts: 425
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 8:57 am

Re: menuPick pop-ups are misplaced...

Post by Nakia » Sat Apr 26, 2014 11:19 pm

No worries, I will check back in a few days....

paulsr
Posts: 222
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 9:47 am
Location: Khanom, Nakhon Si Thammarat, Thailand
Contact:

Re: menuPick pop-ups are misplaced...

Post by paulsr » Tue May 20, 2014 9:17 am

Finally, I am back online and in coding-mode.

Here is a simple test stack... test.zip

http://sr-apps.com/livecode/test.zip

I have created one card with a button placed at 600,600. I have also placed an 'X' at 300,300 just to test my theory.

On a retina iPad, tapping the button causes the menuPick spinner to open at the X, with the spinner's arrow pointing up to the X.

On a non-retina iPad, it correctly opens above the button, with the arrow pointing down to the button.

This, I think, demonstrates the fact the spinner - on a retina device - is opening where it would do, if the device was non-retina.

There's very little code so for ease of reading I've added here too...

First the stack script:

Code: Select all


on preOpenStack
   set the visible of this stack to true
   set the acceleratedRendering of this stack to true   
   
   --set resolution independence mode
   set the fullscreenmode of this stack to "letterbox"
   
   --set allowed orientations
   mobileSetAllowedOrientations "portrait,portrait upside down,landscape left,landscape right"   
   
   if the platform is iphone then 
      iphoneSetRedrawInterval
      iphoneUseDeviceResolution true, true
   end if
     
   --set stack size
   if the environment is mobile then
      if gORTN = "portrait" then
         set the rect of this stack to 0,0,768,1024
      else  
         set the rect of this stack to 0,0,1024,768     
      end if
   end if   
   
end preOpenStack

And the button code is simply:

Code: Select all


on mouseUp
   mobilePickDate "time",,,,,"cancelDone"
end mouseUp

Can anyone see a bug here???

TIA

--paul

[LC6.6.1]

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 7228
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: menuPick pop-ups are misplaced...

Post by jacque » Tue May 20, 2014 4:45 pm

It's a known bug, I think it's been fixed in one of the latest prereleases.

BTW, you don't need to set the stack rect in the handler. On mobile the stack is always the same size as the screen and the instructions will be ignored.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

paulsr
Posts: 222
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 9:47 am
Location: Khanom, Nakhon Si Thammarat, Thailand
Contact:

Re: menuPick pop-ups are misplaced...

Post by paulsr » Wed May 21, 2014 1:31 am

okay, thanks

--paul

paulsr
Posts: 222
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 9:47 am
Location: Khanom, Nakhon Si Thammarat, Thailand
Contact:

Re: menuPick pop-ups are misplaced...

Post by paulsr » Tue Jun 03, 2014 9:29 am

Could someone kindly tell me what bug nbr this is/was and when it was fixed.

I've just downloaded LC 6.6.2(rc6) Mac, and the bug is still there, or has returned.

If no one can spot an error in my code, then I'll (re)list the bug.

TIA

--paul

FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9823
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: menuPick pop-ups are misplaced...

Post by FourthWorld » Tue Jun 03, 2014 2:35 pm

I've seen this on Linux but not on Mac. What's the bug report number? I'll add some notes to it.
Richard Gaskin
LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems
LiveCode Group on Facebook
LiveCode Group on LinkedIn

Post Reply

Return to “iOS Deployment”