mobGUI Browser Control Not Loading

Getting into LiveCode for iOS? Ask your questions here.

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, kevinmiller, robinmiller

Post Reply
granata
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2010 12:27 am

mobGUI Browser Control Not Loading

Post by granata » Tue Nov 26, 2013 10:23 pm

I've got a mobGUI browser control on a card that does a couple of odd things:

1. When I navigate to the card the first time, the control does not appear on the card. If I navigate away from the card and back to it, it shows.

2. I cannot get the control to load a local html file despite importing the parent folder of the html file into Standalone Settings, double checking my path, setting SFPath to 'engine,' etc.

Any help is appreciated!
On Twitter: @granata

Mark
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5142
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 9:24 pm
Contact:

Re: mobGUI Browser Control Not Loading

Post by Mark » Wed Nov 27, 2013 3:39 am

Hi,

MobGUI hasn't been updated for 2 years now. This might affect your first problem.

Post your code here. Without code, it is difficult to determine what is wrong with it.

Kind regards,

Mark
The biggest LiveCode group on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/groups/livecode.developers
The book "Programming LiveCode for the Real Beginner"! Get it here! http://tinyurl.com/book-livecode

granata
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2010 12:27 am

Re: mobGUI Browser Control Not Loading

Post by granata » Wed Nov 27, 2013 4:24 am

That's a shame about mobGUI.

There is no code to speak of other than:

Code: Select all

go to card 2
Card 2 would have the browser control from mobGUI. I've attached an image that shows how this control is configured.
Attachments
LiveCodeScreenSnapz001.png
On Twitter: @granata

Mark
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5142
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 9:24 pm
Contact:

Re: mobGUI Browser Control Not Loading

Post by Mark » Wed Nov 27, 2013 4:38 am

Hi,

You might want to tic auto-fit and auto-destroy. Giving the browser a (temporary) background colour might help debugging (in as much as that's possible).

Kind regards,

Mark
The biggest LiveCode group on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/groups/livecode.developers
The book "Programming LiveCode for the Real Beginner"! Get it here! http://tinyurl.com/book-livecode

granata
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2010 12:27 am

Re: mobGUI Browser Control Not Loading

Post by granata » Wed Nov 27, 2013 6:44 pm

Thanks, Mark. Setting those settings has no discernible effect on the problem. I'll look into using mobileControlCreate as an alternative.
On Twitter: @granata

Mark
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5142
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 9:24 pm
Contact:

Re: mobGUI Browser Control Not Loading

Post by Mark » Wed Nov 27, 2013 7:04 pm

Hi. Sorry, if that doesn't help then I'm out of ideas.

Mark
The biggest LiveCode group on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/groups/livecode.developers
The book "Programming LiveCode for the Real Beginner"! Get it here! http://tinyurl.com/book-livecode

Jellicle
Posts: 448
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 11:07 am

Re: mobGUI Browser Control Not Loading

Post by Jellicle » Wed Nov 27, 2013 8:52 pm

granata wrote:I've got a mobGUI browser control on a card
My sincere sympathies.

Gerry
27" iMac, 27" Cinema Display, OS X Mavericks
iPhone 5 (plus a bunch of older devices for testing)
LiveCode Commercial license. Developer Program member.

Simon
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 3901
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 2:54 am
Location: Palo Alto

Re: mobGUI Browser Control Not Loading

Post by Simon » Thu Nov 28, 2013 1:59 am

Hi granata,
I'm with Gerry.
Here is the lesson on how to make your own browser (probably the same one made by mobGui).
http://lessons.runrev.com/s/lessons/m/4 ... er-control

Simon
I used to be a newbie but then I learned how to spell teh correctly and now I'm a noob!

Post Reply

Return to “iOS Deployment”